Geneva's Ultimate Hungarian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This soup was as good as its reviews. I used a yellow hot pepper in lieu of the wax pepper and normal paprika. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very Good and easy recipe. Flavors are very nice. I did add a bit of white wine to my onions and butter, a couple of dashes of hot sauce and of worchestershire. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Loved it! No butter used olive oil instead. 24oz.of baby bella mushrooms. Used fat free 1/2 & 1/2 instead of skim milk and used a sweet red pepper in place of the wax. I love dill so that with mushrooms are amazing anyway. Filling and hearty yet low fat and low carb. Very tasty and will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I forgot to add sour cream, but still loved it enough for 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
One of the best mushroom soups I have had in a long while....I did make some alterations (and in no way am I say it is better this way as I did not try it the original way) - I used my own hot paprika - I like things a bit spiced up - I roughly chopped a couple of tomatoes and threw them in about 5 minutes before serving -I actually slivered the raw pepper and mixed it into the yoghurt which I dolloped on top just before serving - I had no parsley so I used finely chopped coriander.. A nice warm and filling soup (if you chop chunky it is almost like a stew!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Zurrieq, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Delicious, easy to make soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Spectacular! I have a Hungarian wax pepper plant and I'm trying to find recipes using them. This one was a sure winner! I didn't have any fresh dill so I used 1.5 tsps dried dill instead. This soup is rediculously good! i used a mix of baby bella and white mushrooms. I love that it uses skim milk and light sour cream, too. I only used a quarter of a tsp of salt instead of the full one that the recipe calls for, as well as low sodium soy sauce. I didn't have Hungarian paprika, so I just used regular paprika. After removing the wax pepper and tomato, I ended up chopping them up and using them as a garnish. I usually do not care for dill but it was perfect in this soup! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Was looking for new ways to use my Hungarian wax peppers out of the garden and this soup was a great find. I think I will be making this a few more times this summer, so I can freeze it and stow it away for the winter. As an aside: while making the soup, I did not discard the pepper or the tomato as I felt they added great texture and depth. Other great features of this recipe is that it is very filling as well as satisfying and can be easily converted into a vegetarian option. Overall a wonderful recipe, thanks Geneva for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is incredibly creamy and delicious! Even though it's 90 degrees and humid outside, I'm cooking this soup and enjoying it with the A/C on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
oh, i really loved this. the flavors were very interesting in such a wonderful way. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States