General Tso's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
loved it! Very similar to my favorite restaurant. Next time I will remove the seeds from the chili pepper because mine were too dry & they wouldn't soften without cutting into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Good recipe. I used orange juice instead of rice wine. And omitted the peppers because the family doesn't like hot, still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was a great recipe! I used chicken breast instead of chicken thigh for a healthier alternative and the meat was more tender than the restaurant version. I also added ginger to taste( and smell) to the sauce. My dad, who loves chinese food( take out), LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kacscookz1
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Yum, I didn't have all the right ingredients, but my substitutes worked well. I used canola oil for frying. 1 Tbs red wine and extra rice vinegar for the rice wine, brown sugar for the white, for the banana ketchup (banana processed like tomato ketchup) 1tsp banana (put through garlic press) and 1 tsp tomato ketchup, 1 Tbs red pepper flakes instead of dried chillies, 2 tsp orange juice concentrate for the zest. Does not turn out restaurant quality, but is still very yummy. A hint, try to fry the chicken while mixing up the other ingredients, otherwise it takes way longer than the stated "Ready In" time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Not too bad! I rather enjoyed this recipe...thanks for submitting it! I did change up a few veggies to use what I had on hand. But I finally found something I could use that bottle of banana ketchup I've had rattling around in my cupboard in...that's pretty awesome in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
It was OK, but I'd rather have the breading on it to really be like restaurant food. Too much onions (our family doesn't like it) and banana ketchup was strange. Too many chilies! I am ok with sorta spicy stuff but it was too much. It wasn't too bad, but not too good. thanks for the attempt, though. overall, it was ok but not a favorite. P.S. This sort of food if you go to china 30 yrs ago they'd be like "what in the world is that stuff?" not real chinese food, Americanized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovecooking!!!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Very good! Also tastes great with chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blonde Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Excellent orange flavor just from the zest. Easy to make. Added broccoli and tomatoes and sweet peppers. Cornstarch batter is fantastic alternative for gf diet, when wanting Breaded Asian entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blue_Banana
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is awesome as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
While my family did eat it, I was not at all impressed.I made this recipe right to the letter and it almost wasn't enough for my family of four. It made a really small amount. Thank goodness I made rice to go with it lol. It tasted nothing like the many restaurant versions I've had. I'm gonna try the misspelled General Tsao's II on this site and give this meal another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama's Recipe's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States