General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
My husband gives this a 10!! I took the advice of several other reviewers and decreased the amount of cornstarch (3 Tbls),sugar (1/2 C), and vinegar (1/8 C) in the sauce, but added 1 tsp of chili flakes instead of the peppers at the end. Also, I cut out the deep frying, as we are trying to cut out the fat in our diets. I just simply stir fried the chicken in a bit of vegetable oil and added the sauce and green onions. We didn't even miss the heavy breading! We served it over steamed rice and had some steamed snow peas to round out the meal. I'll definitely be adding this figure friendly version of our favorite take-out to our regular menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I *JUST* finished eating dinner where i made this recipe, and i had to run upstairs to give my rave reviews. It was the best General Tsao's I've ever had; better than any restaurant - and this is my normal entree when i eat Chinese. I would have to add,though, that I modified the recipe slightly. I cut up the chicken and marinated it in 1/2 cup each of soy sauce and hot sauce (Texas Pete) for 4-5 hours. I drained off the liquid before performing the chicken preparation portion of the recipe. I substitued 3-4 Tbsp crushed red pepper for the peppers in the recipe, as the dried peppers are not available in my small town. In the future, I would also probably increase the sauce by another half, just because I'd like the chicken a tiny bit saucier, and this sauce quantity was just enough to glaze the chicken. Otherwise, I have to add this this recipe will now become part of my family's repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This is a great recipe, but if you want a couple of tweaks that make it much more "restaurant like" as well as little healthier , cut the corn starch in half for the sauce. And drop the MSG. You will create a clearer sauce that won't leave a powdery feel on the upper pallet. The MSG is simply over kill. There is plenty of flavor enhancing going on with the sodium in the soy sauce. Also for a nice decorative touch add a cup of shaved or thin diagonally sliced carrots. Over all this a goooood eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Great. Cut down on cornstarch, used less than a 1/4 cup in sauce, and sauteed chicken instead of ddep frying, and used red pepper flakes instead of whole chile peppers. Marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I have tryed many recipes for the past year trying to perfect this general Tsoas chicken and this is it. It taste just like from the buffet I like to go to.I did use less corn starch in the sauce. Ive made 11 pounds of chicken with this in 5 days and theres none left. I made it 3 times the 2nd and 3rd time i used 2 tablespoons of crushed red pepper instead of chiles and it was better. I will keep this recipe for ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
If you cut down on the cornstarch in the marinade (2T was more than enough for me), and add some orange zest (about 1 T), I found that this was a delicious recipe. I would probably go a little less on the sugar for my personal taste as well. The other thing I did was delete the MSG with no adverse change in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Love the recipe, but definitely had to cut down the cornstarch/add more liquid. I didn't use white wine vinegar, instead I just used regular white vinegar. Turned out great! I tried it twice already and the second one was waaaay better than the first since I know to cut down the cornstarch. And very important, for best results, make the sauce and fry the chicken separately. Pour the sauce over the chicken when it's ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedok Reservoir, East Region, Singapore
Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
The chicken came out great. The sauce was extremely thick and took quite a bit of water to make it the correct consistency. Also found the sauce was much better after adding additional brown sugar and a bit of crushed red pepper. Also added streamed broccoli and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
We really liked this. Its my favorite food at Chinese places so I was excited to see this! The color wasn't quite right so I added a bit of ketchup to the sauce to make it red but that's only a preference. I think I overdid the cornstarch in the final step so it was seriously gelatinous. My fault! One thing I will change, though, is rather than using cornstarch to batter the chicken, I think I will use flour. I tasted a bit too much starchiness. Otherwise this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
What a wonderful dish! Just like many of the other reviewers I believe it is quite close to what is available in restaurants, but the cornstarch was a bit much in the sauce. I would say at most 1/4 cup cornstarch would make the recipe magnificent. Until I get a chance to make the dish with the reduced cornstarch, the local chinese restaurant is still tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States