General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
We just didn't think this tasted like General Tsao's. It wasn't terrible, but it definitely wasn't great either. We thought it was too sweet, and I just couldn't get the sauce to the right consistency. I made it exactly like the recipe, except I used red pepper flakes instead of chile peppers and I cut back on the cornstarch. Just not what I was hoping for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Edible, but not at all General Tsao's Chicken. Followed directions exactly except for halfing the cornstarch for the sauce. It was still too much cornstarch. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valliant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I only used cornstarch and egg to make the batter for the chicken. I used Splenda for the sugar and this worked out great. There is NO need for MSG (it's not good for you!!) The sauce was delicious and I love that it coated the chicken the same way as General Tso's chicken is at chinese restaurants. The only down side was that the coating on my chicken lost some of its crunch when I added the saice to the pan. And be careful your pan isn't too hot when you add the sauce to it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was very good, my husband liked it more then me, I thought it was alittle chalky tasting, but my husband didn't think it was. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was amazing! I doubled the amount of sauce (but only used 1/2 cup cornstarch), omitted the MSG and subbed 2 tbsp red pepper flakes in place of the chile peppers. I served this with steamed broccoli and white rice - just like we would get from our favorite chinese restaurant. General Tsao's Chicken is my husband's favorite chinese dish, and he said this was the best version he'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was just awesome. I've been looking for a recipe, as this is my favorite dish when eating out. I recently found a packet mix for the sauce, and was sorely disappointed. It was extremely salty and had an almost burnt flavor. This recipe is perfect. I took the advice of the other reviewers and cut the sauce corn starch in half, and had to substitute ground ginger for fresh. I also did not have any sherry, but the sauce came out perfect. I added some crushed red pepper to taste and I thought it was perfect. The initial sight of the chicken and even the end result worried me. It was so dark, compared to the light tempura batter look I see at restaurants. However, once covered in the sauce, it complimented perfectly and the overall flavor was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
YUMMY ! Even my teenage sons who don`t care for Chinese love this ! Cut way back on the cornstarch or you`ll wind up with paste. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barat5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was good but breading all the chicken was a pain. Made this for the boyfriend since it is his favorite Chinese food, it wasn't like the restaurant's but he enjoyed it anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberln

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I followed others' advice to go a little light on the corn starch, double the sauce and use crushed red pepper instead of chilis -- and it was fantastic!!! Definitely a big winner. I would advise using no more than 1 TBSP of the peppers though, the heat adds up quickly (and I like it hot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Not a bad base for a sauce - but took some modification to get the proper consistency and flavor. Used a combination of thai chili paste (also contains garlic), dried chilies, hoisin, and brown sugar to really solidify it. I cook by look and taste, and this recipe (prepared to the letter, anyways) just didn't have an appealing consistency/texture and the flavor just wasn't quite there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theswad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States