General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by mamad
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
2TBS crushed chili peppers is super hot but it was really good. Just fed it to my husband and sister-in-law and they loved it. I used white vinegar instead of the wine vinegar and used a bit less starch in the sauce. I didn't add the oil to the chicken before cooking either. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Delicious! I added more garlic and ginger (about 1 TB each) and only used 2 TB corn starch in the sauce and it was perfect. (I've made several chinese dishes with sauce this consistency before and already knew 1/2 cup waaaaayyyy too much corn starch.) I started by cutting out 4 TB of the sugar and tasting the sauce, but I thought it needed the entire amount so I added it back in. Like some reviewers, I wasn't completely in love with the cooked soy sauce/cornstarch flavor in the chicken. Next time I will just use regular tempura batter (also from this website) but the sauce was exactly what I was looking for. My husband and I relocated to Germany for his job and miss good ol' American Chinese food, since the German idea of Chinese food is quite different. This reminded me of our favorite Chinese place back in Houston. Thanks Shaun. We'll definitely make this sauce again with regular tempura chicken. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
General tso's chicken at the chinese restaurant has a crispy batter slight crisp to it that keeps the sauce on the outside of the chicken without absorbing into the batter. The problem with this recipe and ones like it, is that the chicken becomes soggy after you add the sauce. If we can solve the soggy batter problem then this recipe would be restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
DEEElicious! I was skeptical throught the whole process - "why is the sauce this color? is the chicken batter suppossed to look like peanut butter and be THIS sticky?" I can not tell you all the doubts I had but when I tasted it, it was as good or better than the restaurants. I topped mine with Sriracha sauce. Fantastick, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
While the taste of this is fine there is just WAY TOO much cornstarch in it. I put about 1/2 what was called for when I coated the chicken, and it was plenty. As for the sauce, it was so thick we had to add about 5 times the amount of water called for to thin it down at the end. And we were so desperately trying to get it to thin down before it hardened into concrete that we really didn't have time to think about WHAT we were thinning it with, so it was totally watery, and then we had to add back in some soy sauce, vinegar, and broth and sugar to get back to having some flavor. It was a big hit when all was said and done, but I have to believe the 1/2 "cup" cornstarch is a mistake. About 2 Tablespoons would have been more than enough, especially since the chicken is coated with it as well, which also helps thicken the sauce. Anyway, there are a lot of other Gen. Tso's chicken recipes out there - all more or less the same basic ingredients and procedure - and I would recommend trying a different one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I must of erred as my sauce was very vinegary and salty. I will try again as I really would like this to work out. I reduced the cornstarch as others recommended and it worked out great. I used 2 tsp of red pepper flakes (but only so I can ensure not too hot for the kids), the rest I followed as per recipe. Next time I am going to make sure on the sugar and slightly reduce vinegar and look for reduced sodium soya. Goes excellent with lime & cilantro rice which is on this site as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhyannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
EXCELLENT! A few notes, don't use MSG and ginger, I marinade the chicken in "hot" soya sauce-then drained. In bag 1/2 c cornstarch and 1/2 c flour. Dip in egg/soy. I didn't use green onions or chile peppers. The sauce is awesome! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
We loved this! The only thing we found that needs to be adjusted is the amount of corn starch used. We used less and still will have to do a little less the next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I prefer this sauce sweeter and more tangy, so I'll add more sugar and vinegar next time. This recipe is a good starting point, though. The directions were very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
The flavor was alright, but the the texture was not that great. The recipe calls for way too much cornstarch. The sauce was very thick and almost inedible. Next time I will cut back on the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalialo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States