General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by prettyblak
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
OMG! THIS RECIPE IS SUPERB WITH A FEW MINOR MODIFICATIONS. I TOOK THE ADVICE OF OTHER REVIEWERS AND USED LESS CORNSTARCH. 2TBSPS TO BE EXACT AND ADDED EXTRA IF NEEDED. I CHOSE TO LIGHTLY FLOUR MY CHICKEN BREAST PIECES INSTEAD OF USING CORN STARCH AND I SEASONED THEM A BIT AS WELL MINUS THE SOY MARINADE.I RESERVED THE SOY USASAGE FOR THE SAUCE. I USED 1/4 CP WHITE SUGAR AND 1/4 CUP BROWN SUGAR INSTEAD OF A CP OF WHITE WHICH GAVE THE SAUCE A RICHER CONSISTENCY.I USED WHITE VINEGAR AND CRUSHED RED PEPPER FLAKES IN PLACE OF THE CHILLIES. MY FAM RAVED OVER THIS RECIPE. NOT TO TOOT MY OWN HORN BUT THEY EVERYONE USUALLY LOVE S MY COOKING LOL. THIS PUT AN EXTRA NOTCH ON MY COOKING BELT! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE. I WILL BE USING IT AGAIN! IF POSSIBLE CHECK OUT MY PLATE OF GEN. TSO ON MY PROFILE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettyblak
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Could not be happier with this recipe. Hubby and I gave up on ordering General's Chicken at our local Chinese restaurant because it was mainly breading and some pieces were so gristly you couldn't even chew them. Looked up this recipe and gave it a try. It was wonderful. Like many reviewers, I used only 3 tbsp of cornstarch, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/8 cup vinegar and 1 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes for the sauce. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This recipe turns out perfect every time I make it! It is definitely a healthier alternative to the take-out Chinese food I typically get that uses questionable meat (still very tasty, though). I left out the MSG, as I think that is overkill. I also left out some of the chile peppers so it didn't kill me in the morning. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was very good & made the whole house smell wonderful!!! I have another general tsao's recipe that isn't that good at all & will be making this one from now on! My husband & I both love this & always order it when we go out for chinese. It wasn't as good as take out but it was still good. My only changes were that I used 1/4 cup cornstarch like everyone else had mentioned cutting down on that. I also used powdered ginger cause thats what I had on hand & I only used 1 tsp (not a huge fan of it) I completley left out the MSG, didn't have any & don't like adding it to food anyways. I used the chicken broth room temp, didn't bother warming it up since you refrigerated the sauce when your done anyways & I used red pepper flakes in place of the peppers cause thats what I had on hand. Also stir fried this to save on fat & threw in some chopped carrots as well & served over white rice! It was very good!! Next time though I will cut back on the cornstarch in the breading for the chicken as well either that or replace it with flour. Overall very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I love this recipe! I've been making it for years...tried and true!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umm Salamah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I ADDED VEGS AND THIS WAS GOOD AND SPICY OVER RICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
awesome recipe. I followed the suggestions about the corn starch, but it was still very thick. Next time, I will put even less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
very good, I used fried chicken pieces from the store to make it quicker. The sauce was alittle to sweet for my taste but other than that it was very good. Will make again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
delicious and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Great recipe!! Added brown sugar instead of white and omitted the MSG (already in the soy sauce). Turned out absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States