General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was our first foray into chinese american cuisine; so, perhaps that skewed our experience towards the negative. The recipe was extremely messy and it took forever to fry all of the chicken. Most disappointingly though at the end of such a long process, none of us really liked the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I also skipped the breading part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I didn't follow this recipe exactly but I am still giving it a 5. I did not use the ginger (we hate the flavor) or the MSG (I refuse to buy that) but that is just personal preference. The chicken was to die for and I am already thinking up other ways that I can use this. I did it in my Fry Daddy and I couldn't ask for more perfect results. The sauce was great but the chicken was good enough to stand on its own without any sauce. Again, I am so impressed with the chicken preperation/results that it is difficult for me to rate the overall recipe. This was excellent and we both really enjoyed it. I plan on playing around with the chicken preparation with other meats and I look forward to my experiments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe! In the interest of time I used popcorn chicken instead of marinating and frying my own. Also in the interest of time I used 1 t crushed red chilis instead of the 16 sun dried chilie peppers the recipe called for. Next time I will start with 1/2 t , it had plenty of heat and was just a GREAT recipe. The chopped green onions also give it a pretty presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
The sauce was really thick and the cornstarch 'flaked' off the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Not as expected. Good (use less cornstarch, as per other reviews), but a LOT of soy sauce flavor. I was looking for a more honey bbq flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
DELICIOUS! I made it for my in laws for their anniversary and it was a huge hit! I had to make changes though because 16 peppers...NO WAY! I cut back on the sugar and cornstarch as suggested by other members. And of course, used waaaaaaaaaaay less peppers. :) I was trying to also feed my children and it was still too hot for them. I think the next time I make this I will make it more figure friendly and not deep fry the chicken. Thanks for a great recipe. I love how everyone kind of customizes it to make it their own. ;) Can't wait for lunch...leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Good, I will make again but too much conrsarc! I had to add a lot more liquid to make the sauce a little thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This recipe has a good flavor. However, that flavor is rather weak due to the amount of cornstarch used in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prettyblak
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
OMG! THIS RECIPE IS SUPERB WITH A FEW MINOR MODIFICATIONS. I TOOK THE ADVICE OF OTHER REVIEWERS AND USED LESS CORNSTARCH. 2TBSPS TO BE EXACT AND ADDED EXTRA IF NEEDED. I CHOSE TO LIGHTLY FLOUR MY CHICKEN BREAST PIECES INSTEAD OF USING CORN STARCH AND I SEASONED THEM A BIT AS WELL MINUS THE SOY MARINADE.I RESERVED THE SOY USASAGE FOR THE SAUCE. I USED 1/4 CP WHITE SUGAR AND 1/4 CUP BROWN SUGAR INSTEAD OF A CP OF WHITE WHICH GAVE THE SAUCE A RICHER CONSISTENCY.I USED WHITE VINEGAR AND CRUSHED RED PEPPER FLAKES IN PLACE OF THE CHILLIES. MY FAM RAVED OVER THIS RECIPE. NOT TO TOOT MY OWN HORN BUT THEY EVERYONE USUALLY LOVE S MY COOKING LOL. THIS PUT AN EXTRA NOTCH ON MY COOKING BELT! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE. I WILL BE USING IT AGAIN! IF POSSIBLE CHECK OUT MY PLATE OF GEN. TSO ON MY PROFILE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettyblak

Displaying results 41-50 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States