General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Just a word of caution: I do NOT recommend the use of MSG in anything. There have been terrible health issues from it. But the recipe was great otherwise. I reduced the starch and increased the liquid. Marinated the chicken in it over night then drained the marinade (sauce) off, baked it and added the sauce back in during last 15 minutes of baking. Trying to cut down on fried food. This turned out great. BUT NO MSG. My mom nearly died from it. And I know others who have strange and horrible reactions from it. Just a warning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granmary8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Cameron, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I live near a chinese restaurant that has been voted the best in my state for several years. It's claim to fame is their General Tsao's chicken. Clearly, this is where they got their recipe! With some of the reviewer's modifications, it tastes identicle to theirs. The recommendations on this site that I used to to achieve this copycat recipe are as follows: I cut the sugar to 2/3 cup. I used only 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and for the liquid, I used all chicken broth For the vinegar, I reduced the amount to 2 tablespoons and used rice wine vinegar. The restaurant stir fries white onion to accompany the chicken (not the green kind) and for some strange reason, it works to catapult this dish into the stratosphere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was good, although it was definitely not generals chicken, so I had to mark down for the disappointment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmith89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome! I cut the cornstarch for the sauce in 1/2. My husband can't stop talking about it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
5 stars with MARIAT66's alterations. I also used tofu instead of chicken, and skipped both the egg and MSG. Next time I'll use the original amount of vinegar. For tofu, just drizzle soy sauce over the pieces and dip in cornstarch rather than mixing the whole coating together. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I'm sorry but I have to give this recipe 2 stars.All you can taste is cornstarch. My 2 children got all excited when I handed them their plates until they tasted it. My children are very good eaters and they strongly disliked this.I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buskens1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Okay so I must of messed up some where along the way. It tasted way to pasty and blahh.. I would try it again but I'm affraid to. Good luck to you all and hope you have better success than i did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I am giving this 5 stars because the taste is some of the best general tsao's chicken we have tried. I followed some of the recommendations of cutting the cornstarch but I still didn't cut it enough. I can't wait to try it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
The flavor of this is EXCELLENT! I have made this recipe several times now and my husband just loves it. I always replace the chilies with crushed red pepper. However, I do think that there is too much cornstarch in the sauce. I prefer my sauce to be thinner and 3 out of 4 times I've made this recipe the sauce has set up almost instantly and was very very sticky and no amount of added liquid could make it otherwise. Other than that small detail I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe. It turned out great! I did skip the MSG. I also took the advice of previous reviewers and cut down the corn stach in the sauce. I also used pepper flakes in place of the chile peppers. This was my first try at Asian cooking. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States