General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Very yummy, but still not crispy enough :(. I used 3 T cornstarchfor the sauce and it was still too much. will try 2 T next time, and maybe some orange zest I think would go really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gopintos
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I can never remember to read the reviews. I will use less corn starch in sauce next time. I didnt have white wine vinegar so I used red. No MSG here. I battered with flour instead of more corn starch. I pan fried instead of deep fried, and used that same pan to finish it. It was very tasty - a little corn starchy but not bad, it still tasted good. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
The tempura mixture for this contains WAY to much soy sauce. I recommend cutting back on it by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
absolutely restaurant quality recipe.... I will be making this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
My family loved this. Took a little longer to prepare than other recipes, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe was excellent with some of the modifications from other reviewers. I cut the cornstarch to 2 tablespoons in the sauce, and I put half cornstarch/half flour in a plastic bag and put a few pieces of the marinated chicken in at a time to coat. Also used one tablespoon of crushed red peppers in place of the chili peppers. Tasted just like a good Chinese restaurant's General Tsao's! Family loved it and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Great recipe. Tastes like some of my favorite restaurants do. I cut back on the corn starch as many suggested but I ended up adding more in when i was cooking the sauce. I also added more soy sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
It left a taste in my mouth I couldn't get rid of for two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delish! Only change I will make is just a few tablespoons of cornstarch in the cauceinsteadvof the 1/2 cup. It came out slightly too thick, but amazing! Thank youfor the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrawatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
One of the best recipes on this site! I followed other's comments and reduced the cornstarch. I also pan fried, rather than deep fried, the chicken. The other substitute that worked is that I used 1 1/2 t of chili garlic paste and 1 1/2 t of crushed red pepper flakes in place of the whole chilies. It gave it a great spicy flavor and was easy to adjust as we cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States