General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I did not care for this. Too much sugar in the recipe. It made a brown, thick, sticky goo that was no where near GenTso chicken! This made a roux that might be okay over lots and lots of steamed vegetables, but if you have your heart set on G/T chicken, better find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I made this recipe for my best friend because she loves hot food and she was very impressed. The only thing with this recipe is I had to use a whole can of chicken broth and I kept adding water to it like a whole cup & a 1/2. But it was a very good recipe thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERESAGIRL29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I've made this a couple of times now and it turns out delicious. I made a lot of substitutions- used plain white vinegar, red pepper flakes, and black pepper instead of white- and it was still great. I didn't have a deep fryer either, so just used some oil in a pan and flipped the pieces halfway through. I added quite a bit of extra water to the sauce in the end because it kept thickening even with the heat off. Served it over rice. Will definitely make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. I went ahead and used the full amount of cornstarch for the sauce, and I agree that it was probably too much. I had to add a good bit of water to it to thin it out some. I also used dried red pepper flakes instead of the whole chilies. But again, this is definitely going to be in my repertoire from now on. My husband was so impressed (he loves Chinese food)...he said he wanted to marry me again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
DON'T TRY THE CHICKEN WITHOUT THE SAUCE. Wow... I just made hubby go and run and get something else for dinner. As the chicken didn't look or taste good. Now I am sitting here sneaking bites because it tastes better with the sauce. I would NEVER cook the chicken like this again. It tastes just like soy sauce...yuck. Instead i will just use the same method I do for my sweet & sour chicken. The sauce is wonderful. I didnt use the peppers, but used crushed red pepper. And unless you like something super spicy...i wouldnt put too much. Some people were like use 2 tbl...ummm no. I just shook it until it looked good & it was way less than 2 tlb (like some suggested) & still VERY spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe with a little tweaking. Definitely use less cornstarch, 1/4 is more than enough and will give you sweetness and thickness. I will add more vinegar next time to give it a kick. Sauteing with flour instead of cornstarch also helps cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Tasted like we were at a restaurant. I broke my tasteless dinner streak with this recipe. Was easy - prepared everything early afternoon and just popped it into wok at dinner time and was done! So tasty I was giddy - we almost danced around the kitchen at my success! Didn't use MSG, and reduced cornstarch as suggested by others. A great way to reinspire me to keep trying - this one goes to the front of the recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This recipe was amazing! My husband really enjoys fast food Chinese restaurants and we were looking for an equally delicious, slightly healthier version to enjoy at home. I think it matches up and we like that it isn't as bad for us. I did reduce cornstarch as recommended and used dried chili flakes and it was superb! My husband's comment is that it didn't taste "cheap" enough--it was more "high end" tasting like at a sit-down restaurant. We enjoyed this dish so much that we will make it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was ok. Like others, too much corn starch.I changed things the second time around. I made the sauce as per recipe,but a bit less sugar,and mixed the water and corn starch separate, and thickened it at the end. The chicken, I used thigh meat,I like it best, I rolled the meat in corn starch, then egg(1 egg + 1 egg white) then rolled it in Panco.This results in a lighter breading but still crispy. Be careful with Panco because it browns VERY quick. So I cook it at 300-325.It browns fast,but it sort of stops and you can keep cooking it.Play around with it to get the hang of it.Panco also absorbs less oil.Came out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I am so disappointed in this dish, nothing about it was good and I am sorry I got out the deep fryer for it. We usually only deep fry for our superbowl party... so once a year, but based on the reviews I decided to give this a try. This tastes NOTHING like the general tsao chicken I order in the restaurant. Tastes more like a cheap chinese dish you would get from the frozen section in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States