General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe as is - fantastic. Even better the next day after the sauce thickened and flavour heightened. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
first off.. me and bf don't know what "authentic" gen. tsao chicken tastes like.. but we do know we really enjoyed this dish.. i made this bc bf was craving something sweet and savory.. i forgot to buy an orange while at the store so i used a sweet lime's peel.. it didn't seem to add anything though :(.. i was worried about it being too sweet so i only added 1/4 cup of sugar.. big mistake.. i dissolved the lacking 1/4 cup of sugar in some water and then incorporated it into the final dish.. almost had a disaster b/c i added too much cornstarch.. luckily the sugar water helped thin it out.. didn't want bf to take the time to clean out the deep fryer so i used sauteed breast meat.. ty for this yummy sweet-heat recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very good...I did not have the peppers on hand, but used a bit of ground red pepper and it was great. I'll add crushed red pepper to some next time, but hesitated in case my kids would think it too spicy. I also grated the peel to give it a little more orange flavor. I cut a little of the sugar, and might cut back a little more next time, along with a little less soy (personal preference on both), but this is a keeper...better than most restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wow!! Amazing. I did not have the chilies and green onions on hand, but the flavor was sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I tried this last night, followed recipe exactly with one change(Doesn't affect the taste of the sauce). I used Tempura instead of cornstarch for the breading on the chicken. This dish had a good overall chinese flavor but tasted nothing like General Tso's. The Tempura chicken was the best part. I will not make this again and continue my search for a authentic General Tso's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imtraceyr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Need to do the sauce 4 times with 3 pounds of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Living in Holland for over 20 years, one of the things I missed most was the Chinese take-out, General Tsaos was one of the favorites. Yes its alot of work, but well worth it! I used just a bit more citrus then the recipe calls for and added OJ. Hit the mark, no homesickness anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Photo by themoodyfoodie
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I didn't have the red chilies so I used sriracha sauce and it wasn't quite spicy enough. This is a very tasty sauce though and I won't forget the chilies next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themoodyfoodie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I would make this again, with a few modifications. Personally, we don't enjoy the peanut flavor so I would leave that out next time and perhaps add a few more chili peppers for a touch more heat. Other than that, great recipe! Very tasty sauce. Comes together well and so does the chicken. Tip: The chicken really sticks together so I found it easier to toss it in the cornstarch using my hands to get a more even coating. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe is really good. The only thing I suggest is double the sauce!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkleonard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish you won't want to miss.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States