General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Living in Holland for over 20 years, one of the things I missed most was the Chinese take-out, General Tsaos was one of the favorites. Yes its alot of work, but well worth it! I used just a bit more citrus then the recipe calls for and added OJ. Hit the mark, no homesickness anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Photo by themoodyfoodie
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I didn't have the red chilies so I used sriracha sauce and it wasn't quite spicy enough. This is a very tasty sauce though and I won't forget the chilies next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by themoodyfoodie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I would make this again, with a few modifications. Personally, we don't enjoy the peanut flavor so I would leave that out next time and perhaps add a few more chili peppers for a touch more heat. Other than that, great recipe! Very tasty sauce. Comes together well and so does the chicken. Tip: The chicken really sticks together so I found it easier to toss it in the cornstarch using my hands to get a more even coating. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe is really good. The only thing I suggest is double the sauce!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkleonard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was an awesome recipe! I didn't have any red chiles so I used red pepper flakes and it didn't give the spice and flavor that it needed. So I will make it next time with the chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I had some leftover homemade chicken tenders (boneless chicken breasts cut into strips, breaded & deep fried until crispy), so I bypassed the beginning part of the recipe & just cut up the chicken tenders to use with the rest of the recipe going along as written. This was AWESOME! I eat this regularly when I go out for Chinese & this was just as good, only cheaper. Just the right amount of spice! Added some fresh broccoli and it was fantastic. Thank you ChefDaddy. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe. Crispy chicken, 2 chilies went a long way, 2 - 3 Tbs of OJ concentrate instead of orange peal. This is my go to General Tao's Chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Fat Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe is great! My husband loves General Taos and actually prefers this over his favourite restaurant's version. Make sure you have all the sauce ingredients ready to go. First time I made this I took too long and ended up with a savoury caramel sauce. Still good, but a little strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
really goood!! just like from the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I am 14 and have made this many times for my family, friends, etc. We loved it and keep making over-and-over. Family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States