General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Good, but I modify a bit. First off I follow the breading recipe for this recipe http://allrecipes.com/recipe/springfield-style-cashew-chicken-i/detail.aspx only because it's what I use for the Springfield Style Cashew Chicken, and I LOVE it!(if you like cashew chicken, you must try this link for the recipe) I've also done just cooked chicken breast, no breading for a healthier version. I do a little less sugar also, only because I find it a bit too sweet for me. My family love the recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe was wonderful! So full of flavor!! It's just like Chinese take-out. I doubled the sauce, and made a few substitutions for things I had on hand. For the double recipe I added 1t. onion powder for the green onions, 1t. chili powder for the red chilies, and 2T. creamy peanut butter for the peanut oil. Next time I make it I'll plan ahead & buy the real ingredients because I'm sure it will only improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Easy and authentic. I used hot pepper flakes instead of whole peppers which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Notes for next time: A lot of work. Try mixing sauce ingredients early if necessary. Try subbing orange juice for orange zest. Double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Delicious. A little more work than expected for my first try but well worth it. I would serve this to my mother-n-law so it's got to be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Doubled the sauce and used 1 tablespoon of red chile sauce in place of the dried red peppers since I couldn't find them. BEST GENERAL TSAO'S EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
this is the best recipe ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe works well with tofu. If you take a block of extra firm tofu, cube it into bite size pieces. Place in a dish and cover with boiling salted water for 15 min. Drain and pat dry. From there follow directions as written. The glaze gets all loved up & clingy without turning to mush. I tried this for myself and my carnivorous children always eat it. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stefboogie
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Great recipe! Tastes like the dish we love from an area restaurant. I did make a few changes. I omitted the sesame and peanut oils and the orange zest because I didn't have any. I don't think it would have made a difference with the oils. I also substituted half of the sugar with brown sugar. I did NOT double fry. Didn't see the necessity in that since the chicken will soften in the sauce. During the simmer stage, I added 1/4 cup orange juice and sliced carrots (because that's the way our favorite go-to spot for Chinese serves theirs). I served it with vegetable fried rice. This General Chicken is so good it'll make you slap your mama! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
The only adaptations I made were to toss broccoli in during the last minutes of thickening the sauce, and since the sauce needed only 3 tbs of chicken broth, I made a cup of bullion, used the 3 tbs and then used 1/4 c of the rest to mix with the cornstarch to thicken. I also did put the (white breast) chicken chunks in a fryer, then finished them for 10 minutes or so in a 425 degree oven before tossing them into the sauce. Yes, you can use plain chicken, but that's stir fry with Tsao's sauce, this is the real thing! You won't find a restaurant in town that can beat this recipe. I used to work in a Chinese restaurant in high school,their food was wonderful, but this is the best. Definitely use dried red chilies and fresh grated ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States