General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
this recipe is amazing. the only thing i changed was i doubled the sauce recipe but cut the soy sauce in half because it comes out so salty if i dont. love this recipe so much though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This is the closest of anything thing I've ever had to General Tsao's chicken from my favorite resturant. It may be a little time consuming but it's sooo worth the effort. This is the second time I've made it and the family can't get enough. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
THIS IS IT!! No better recipe for General Tsao's on the Internet, in the Chinese Restaurant, anywhere! I can't believe how good this was. I steamed broccoli florets and carrots an tossed in the sauce. It is soooo good- Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
fabulous!! it tasted sooooo much like the real thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pooh16
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
It was to salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tenessa
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was really really good. I like extra sauce so I doubled the sauce ingredients with the exception of the red peppers. I used 9 Chile de arbol dry red pepper instead of 12 and removed the seeds because I was worried it would be to hot for my 3yr old & 7yr old. It was great. It had a small amount of spicy to it but nothing that bothered my picky eaters. They actually enjoyed it. If you like spice I would recommend using at least the number of peppers this recipe calls for and if your doubling the sauce too also double the peppers. I'm still not sure if your suppose to remove the seeds though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrdodd
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
The sauce made as written is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. The only thing is the cook time to thicken the sauce was slightly off. Once you add the chicken back into the sauce I'd recommend tossing the timer aside and watching it closely until it thickens to your liking. For me it was more like 5 minutes over about medium/high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Excellent recipe! We have made it many times and it is easy quick and restaurant quality every time. I substituted plain flour for the corn starch, I always do this when I am cooking asian and etc. recipes, it is just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa “Sweettea” Coggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This recipe is VERY time consuming, however try "frying" using this method for "sweet/sour chicken" recipe-(Combine 2 &1/4 cup flour, 2tbsp oil, 2tbsp cornstarch, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp white pepper, & 1 egg mix well. Add 1 & 1/2 cups water gradually to make a thick batter. Stir to blend thoroughly. Add chicken & stir until chicken is well coated.Heat oil in skillet/wok to 360 degrees F. Fry chicken in hot oil 10 minutes, or until golden. Remove chicken, and drain on paper towels. No double frying. Note: if you use org. recipe the chicken will stick to itself when put in the batter so toss quickly or coat chicken in a ziploc bag with cornstarch a few at a time. then place in single layer on baking sheet til ready to fry. I did TRY to use org. recipe (doubled the sauce) but I did not have peanut "oil" & used 2tbsp of peanut butter & that was a mistake. Even after cooking for 4 mins on med-high the peanut butter taste was very over powering. this was not hot at all, therefore next time I will add 1 tbsp of sriracha chili sauce for flare and I will definitely use the other batter for frying. Plus I will make sure to have peanut "oil". we used exactly 52 pieces for 5 grown ups (3 of them having seconds) and that was perfect with none left over. Helpful hint: measure everything out earlier in the day and put in small bowls. It took 20 min to chop,mince,and measure everything out and 30 minutes to fry & re-fry using org. recipe. Definitely leave plenty of time for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Made this last night. Best generals chicken I've ever had! My boyfriend loved it too-will definitely be doubling the sauce next time, but it's not necessary if you don't like sauce like I do. Great flavor and great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States