General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I have been searching for THE General Tso (Tao) Chicken recipe, and have tried numerous recipes to no avail. This one still was not quite it, but with some changes it was the closest I've come yet. I'd give it a 5, but I had to modify the recipe significantly - still though, the results were DELICIOUS. Perhaps it isn't fair to take off a star if I didn't even follow the recipe exactly, but I wanted to avoid the negative results other reviewers had. Here are my changes: reduce vinegar to 3 Tbsp and ketchup to 2 Tbsp, to get rid of the sour and ketchupy tastes. Reduce ginger to about 1 Tbsp (that's just personal preference) and add a couple of cloves of garlic (this is the first General Tso's chicken recipe I've seen that didn't have garlic). Increase soy sauce to 1/4 cup. Add 1/4 cup of sherry. And I like it hot, so I added a Tbsp or so crushed red pepper and a few red chiles. Also, the oyster sauce is important - don't skip that ingredient. I stir-fried broccoli and sugar snap peas with the green onions and served on white rice. Like I said it still wasn't exactly restaurant quality but it was very close. My gf and I were VERY happy with how it turned out. EDIT: To the people complaining about the batter - I've found the chicken is better baked and MUCH EASIER. Marinate for ~3 hrs in sriracha, soy, and garlic powder. Bake covered for 10 minutes at 400, then another 15-20 at 350. Don't let it get too dry. This can result in a lot of extra sauce, so make plenty of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Incredible!! Followed the recipe and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Oh My Gosh! I love this recipe. I followed RDean's ideas and changed things like him/her. I added 1/2 bag of frozen broccoli and 1can of sliced waterchestnuts. RDean said to use 2tbs of crushed red peppers. I used just one tbs and I think I will cut it back to 1/2. If you can't find RDean, here are the changes that he/she made. 1 tbs ground ginger.(I used 2Tbs) 3 tbs of distilled white vinegar. 1/4 cup of soy sauce. 2tbs of Ketchup. Added 2 cloves garlic. I am going to make some changes the next time I make it. I'm going to try it without any of the breading. I hope that will make it more saucy and not so thick. I didn't mind how thick it was, just prefer more sauce and less breading. I feel the fresh ginger and the oyster sauce are the key to this recipe! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This took a long time to make and it is not even close to General Tao chicken. The sauce is sour and the taste of ketchup is too strong. Will not make again. However, the breaded chicken taste pretty good by itself. I will never again make the sauce but I will definitely make the breaded chicken again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. I've got to say, I'm a little puzzled. I'm a huge fan of the restaurant versions of this dish I've had. This tastes nothing like them. The texture of the chicken is wrong, the sauce is okay but the flavor is really off. The ketchup is a bit overwhelming and seems really out of place. I cook a lot but I don't see any way to reconcile this recipe to General Tao Chicken. In the future I will stay with a traditional recipe with traditional ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was delicious!!! I put the sauce in a side dish because I knew my little kids wouldn't try it with the sauce. But the pieces of chicken on their own were super yummy as well and the kids couldn't have enough of them. Will make again and again... Oh yeah, there were a few items I didn't have like the green onion which I used yellow, the peanut oil and oyster sauce. I imagine it would make the sauce even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This tasted great! Definitely took way longer than 50min... but perhaps that's because I'm new to the recipe. Made a few changes based on recommendations. -Added a can of water chestnuts. -Steamed frozen broccoli and added it afterwards. -Used 1 tablespoon and a half of fresh ginger -Used just over 3 tablespoons of vinegar -Used 2 heaping tablespoons of ketchup. -Added 3 teaspoons of fresh garlic Tasted great with Basmati Rice. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Really good. I didn't have oyster sauce and substituted purple onion for the green. Also added freshly chopped garlic. Would recommend adding the chicken only when the oil is very hot to obtain maximum crispiness. Next time would try adding whole chili peppers and fresh stir-fried vegetables (broccoli, peppers, onion) for an added bit of healthiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodByLauren
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
my boyfriend said that if I had told him I got this from our favorite Chinese takeout place, he would have believed me. Enough said!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodByLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, particularly as a base for adding either vegetables (water chestnuts, red or green pepper, broccoli) or honeyed walnuts. Will definitely make again! edited addition - used about 1/4 C. sugar next time and had more of a sweet-and-sour taste that I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States