General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was absolutely, positively the MOST AUTHENTIC Chinese General Tso we have ever had. EVER. it is definitely a LOT of work and even though the recipes didn't say to prepare the sauce ahead of time, if we didnt it would have been a disaster. This is a two person job, honestly. I am very experienced in the kitchen and multitask like a mad woman ( i have 4 teens who always need to be in 4 different places at the same time, ha). This recipes really is worth the work. Please don't be too discouraged that it's a real task. I would never try it on a weeknight unless i had help. We did have to make a few simple alterations; the sauce calls for cornstarch- use half or you'll be thinning it out later. The batter is super thick 9that's why the texture and crust is so awesome, but it"s tricky to make sure every single piece of chicken is added separately or you'll have a clump of mean. I added additional scallions/green onions near the end. that really made us feel we were at our favorite Chinese restaurant. We ate with chip sticks to enhance Chinese Night. we often dedicate a night to a certain culture just to keep it fun to eat at home. We will do this again but I may need a glass of wine to calm my nerves first. It was fantastic with authentic Chinese Beer, Tsing Tso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trish&jeff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Pretty close to the General Tao chicken we like, but in my opinion, not quite right. I'm not sure what it is, the ginger, ketchup, or something that's missing. However, this recipe is somewhat tasty and seems to have all the basics to make this type of chicken, so I will be using it again but with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafwife16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made this for my parents last night and they loved it as did i. One thing i did do differently was i did not use oyster sauce. I also added chilli powder to add a spice. I very much enjoyed this recipe and highly recommend it. I will deffinetly be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
way too strong, but good with a lot of rice on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeloVlog

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I made this with tofu.. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This is a really yummy recipe! I only rated it four stars as it could use a bit more flavor. I would say some cilantro and lemon juice would zing this up considerably. I garnished ours with Coriander (Cilantro)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
recommend 2 tbsp. ketcup, and also added red pepper flakes, and a bit of minced garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I altered the reipce by adding during the ktchup phase and sesame seeds in the end. I saw it done at Hibachi so I tried it and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pap4866

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Griswold, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My family enjoyed this alot! Just added a few pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
awsome taste like the real thing except store bought the sause and added a little sugar to taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States