General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
So good and does taste close to the General Tso we get at the restaurant. I used chicken thighs and doubled the sauce but used brown sugar instead of white everything else as recipe called for. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
this turned out just perfect. I had to use ground ginger, but I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I love it!! It may be a little too sweet for some people. We might use a little less sugar and add some red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I have been tried lot of receipes this is the best make sure put all ingredient only thing missing I love spicy so I put red pepper powder ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Not any kind of good imitation of any General Tso (not Tao) Chicken I have ever had. I took the recommendation of a poster and baked, not fried, the chicken. And got anemic looking chicken. The coating is just wrong. General Tso needs cornmeal and Panko, or it's just wrong. It wasn't a mild version; it was basically bland. So this combination of anemic, lack of crunchy outside (and tender inside), with bland, not even mentioning the lack of vegetables in this recipe, makes it a poor imitation of the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flaaavadaaave
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
It was alright. Intense flavour, but wasn't a big fan of the flavour. I used about half the sugar because half a cup seems like way too much considering ketchup is basically just sugar as well. Also it tasted a bit too much like the oyster sauce I think. It wasn't very crispy either but I expected that. We thought to bake it a bit at the end to try to make it crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This turned out delicious! I forgot the flour and the baking soda...it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent recipe! I followed it as best as I could with what I had in the house and had a wonderful surprise for my husband who loves General Tao chicken. It's a long process so it will have to be saved for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've made this serveral times and it's fantastic. Regardless if you make the chicken breaded or not, it's still fantastic. I serve it over a white rice, quinoa blend and it's to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacySnook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States