General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Best General Chicken I've had! I didn't have an orange to zest, so I used a splash or Orange Juice. Also, I could not find the chili peppers, so I used Chinese Hot Sauce. I ate it so fast I didn't take a picture. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was delicious! My husband loved it. I also brought it to a potluck and it was gone in seconds. I can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
My boys absolutely love this recipe!! I let my neighbor's try some the first time I made it, (they don't cook much) and ever since then I make extra to bring over to them, they liked it so much!! YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was the best recipe!!! My whole family loved it. Wouldn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I read RDeans review and therefore added garlic - was very careful with the ketchup. I loved it and my husband was crazy over it. I followed the recipe but I didn't measure and it turned out awesome anyway. It isn't that it's a hard recipe just lots of ingredients. I think this would be good with shrimp too. Thanks for this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was quite ambitious for me to take on alone; definitely a two-man job, especially for clean-up. Regardless, this recipe came out great after following RDean's suggestions of limiting the vinegar and ketchup (I used rice vinegar), and adding chiles (I used lots of chili paste to add needed flavor). After burning my arm and face with hot oil I decided to bake the rest of my chicken. I was concerned the breading would not bake well, but it actually did. It wasn't the best breading, and it fell off the chicken some, but it was General Tso Chicken for sure. Overall, not worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
We eat this whenever we're craving Chinese! Even my 3 and 4 year old love it! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is amazing and my husband loves it! I live in Thailand so when I saw the ingredients and how easy they'd be to get, it was a must try! Read a few other reviews and followed some tips, like adding garlic, less ketchup, a Tbs. of crushed red pepper (because we like hotter food) and a little less vinegar. Plus I cut back on the veg. oil and sugar, because you can afford to. But such an amazing dish, note (learned this living in Thailand), when they say, "HOT" it's hot, our Maid has burnt up several of our spatulas because they get their oil hot when cooking (reason I bring this up is because some people complained about the "breading," which I think if you don't cook it hot enough, fast enough, might lead to a less appealing "battered chicken.") But it is a very good dish and not too hard once you've done it, will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very good. I used rice vinegar because it is not as harsh I find. Even though I cut back on the vinegar and ketchup, next time I would cut back to only a tablespoon of vinegar and a lot less soy sauce as well. My husband is Singapore Chinese and he always says the recipes call for way too much soy sauce. But this was very close to restaurant style. You need to fry it twice in a deep fryer to get it to come out like the restaurants. This is healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe! I did make it the way RDean suggested. My mother and I love General Tso's chicken for a long time and don't eat it too often. Last night we made this together and even my husband enjoyed it. My kids liked the chicken without the sauce. I would definitely make this again, but make sure you have time because it did take me a long time to prepare, even with help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States