General Tao Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I made this with tofu, and the breading was fantastic! The sauce was a little different, not sure how, but still delicious. My family gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Very good! I add crushed red pepper flakes and I usually just cut the chicken up, put it in an oiled pan, cover it with the sauce and bake. It is wonderful fried, but a little healthier baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Koen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
@RDean I am fifteen years old and I love to cook ! I decided to make General Tso's chicken for my family and with a few tweaks it was delicious ! I followed the recipe but I also used your advice of reducing the ketchup to 2 tbsp and vinegar to 3 tbsp although I kept the ginger the same . Due to the sugar, I felt like the chicken was too sweet so I added some hot pepper. Even after that I wanted more spicy so I added about a half cup of sriaracha and it was perfect ! The chicken had a nice reddish tint and the whole family loved it . They said it was restaurant quality ! I am very satisfied :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
My kids took one bite and said, "It's just like in the restaurant!" I added broccoli and green peppers to mine, and I added a few tablespoons of sriracha to the ketchup mixture. I also added hot chili powder to give it extra kick because my family likes it spicy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiny, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I made this recipe yesterday and it was amazing. I did all my prep work beforehand so it was easy just to throw things in as per the recipe. I was very impressed. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Wow I really liked this. Things I did different. I only had two chicken breasts, that was enough for two adults & a child. The batter I did the full amounts, I suppose they could've been cut backa bit for the amount of chicken I had. The frying I did in my deep cast iron pot. used the full 1/2 cup of oil & then let the chicken drain on paper towel in my low heat oven. Now when it came to the sauce I drained off approx. half the frying oil. I didn't want to eat that much veg oil. I was heavy handed with the ginger. I did add the sesame oil. appox 1/4 cup of sugar. didn't change other amounts with the sauce, except I had oyster sauce instead of fish sauce. My daughter was able to handle the sauce too. Worth the effort, very good. next time have some broccoli & maybe some pineapple chuncks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This was okay. I don't think it taste like take out. I followed the recipe as written since this was my first time trying it, I will definitely tweak next time. I doubled everything, I had about for pounds of CB to use. Next time I will half the sugar and ketchup. Add more ginger. I will also add whole dried chili pepper like my take out restaurant does. Maybe some cayenne for some heat. This is a keeper with changes, but anything new to do to chicken is a keeper in my book. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Easy to make and turned out great. I had to substitute with fish sauce instead of oyster sauce and rice vinegar instead of white vinegar, but my husband still really enjoyed it. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States