General Robert E. Lee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
well, regardless of the name of the cake, I thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABEACH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is an old and grand recipe and worth all the effort. BUT, it is a LOT of effort and very time-consuming. I admit, over the years I cheat and adapt. You can have basically the same cake, minus the jellied bits, by buying lemon cake mix, doubling the frosting and mixing in a bit of coconut. I make this "cheaters" RELee cake and no one ever notices the difference. It's a great adaptation if you're pressed for time (and who isn't!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
It's unusual to find a new cake recipe so good. I've had this saved to my recipe box for, no joke, 10 years. Finally tried it out this weekend for my MIL's birthday. A real show-stopper. Very special. Not at all hard to make, although the zesting/juicing of all of those lemons/oranges took a lot of time. Only modification: I thought it was strange that the cake recipe had no oil/fat in it. I thought of how oil makes chiffon cakes so nice and tender, and added 1/3 cup canola oil to the batter. Taste and texture of cake was superb. I will make this again for a special occasion. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Best cake ever. Enough said. But to elaborate: The recipe is wonderful; the only change I made was to add more zest than was called for in all parts of the cake. I might try to convert this to a sheet cake for more common every-day use, but it was superb. Received rave reviews from my parents and my family, and I loved it. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Cake is more like a sponge-cake than I was anticipating, but the lemon curd is AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
For the actual cake: I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't have lemon zest... I found the cake to be dry and lacking the lemon flavor I was looking for. Why is it so difficult to find a good lemon cake recipe?! I did not try the frosting so cannot rate that, I did a lemon chocolate and was disappointed in the cake's outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Delicious cake and icing. Definitely a bit labor intensive. Make sure not to overbeat the egg whites or the cake will fall in the center as it cools. I also had trouble with the lemon curd. I was expecting it to thicken, like pudding as I was cooking it. It never did, as a consequence I over cooked it and it ended up more like lemon jelly, rather than curd -still tart and delicious, bit not the right consistency. Looking at other recipes perhaps a better stopping point is until it coats the back of a wooden spoon. The frosting is delicious; the combination of orange, lemon and coconut was perfect for this cake. I will definitely make this cake again, a bit wiser for the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I was excited to try this recipe because of the combination of lemon and coconut. Like other reviewers have said, this recipe does take some time. I think the prep time listed in an underestimation. I was a little concerned when I separated the layers because the cake did seem dry and bland, but once I poured the delicious lemon filling on and let it soak in, the cake had a great lemon flavor. Definitely let the cake sit a couple of hrs before serving. The cake does have a dense texture, and is not comparable to the texture of a boxed cake mix. This was the main negative for me. The frosting is really sweet but tasty. For me, the best part is the filling which has a wonderful lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States