Gel's Green Beans and Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
So flavorful! For a little kick, add a couple tablespoons of curry paste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Thank you! Great recipe- we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This was very easy and very good. My husband and I really enjoyed this. As suggested I used 1 lb. of ground beef and made this our main course. Once my green beans were in I cooked it 10 minutes (at 7 minutes the beans were still a little on the crunchy side still). I only needed the amount of flour and water called for in the recipe, and I used the 96% lean ground beef. I also added a fresh onion instead of onion powder as suggested by other reviewers -- definitely a good thing and worth doing. My husband kept commenting on how sweet the onion got. I served it with steamed white rice. My husband kept adding spicy Chinese chili oil, and I tried it but actually preferred the recipe as is (and I adore spicy food). If you're looking for something quick and easy, this is the recipe. Next time we may add some bamboo shoots and/or water chestnuts. It might even be good with ground pork instead of ground beef. I think that this will become a regular dish around our house since it's so quick and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
What a great idea! Love this recipe AND this website. I find that so often I am just lost for meal ideas and get tired of the things which DO occur to me. This time I typed in ground beef and green beans and this recipe came up. The recipe submitter will probably be appalled to read that I made it, plunked it in a cassarole dish, topped it with tater tots , and baked it for 20 minutes. :+) But my kids LOVED it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
This recipe is so delicious!! It's very simple and a great sorce for protein! Sarap!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Very good!! The only thing I would mention is to make sure your fresh green beans are VERY FRESH. If they are old, they don't get tender enough when cooked like this. The whole family loved it, even the toddler. Quick and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Delicious! I made a few minor changes. I decreased the amount of ground beef and added cooked soybeans. I also added some chopped onions because I didn't have any onion powder and used frozen green beans instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
My husband loved this recipe, it was FAST and easy to make and very filling. I served it over white rice and doubled the amount of ground beef. I was thinking next time to add sliced almonds or some orange zest for an oriental kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
Very good! I use 1 pound of beef with 1 pound of beans...gotta have beef,otherwise it might seem like a side dish and not the entree.Again,vey good,lot's of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This was surprisingly good. My whole family loved it (except my 13 year old, who finds just about everything "too spicy"). The ginger gives it a wonderful flavor. I used frozen whole green beans, and it came out great. I don't know if adding the flour is necessary--it makes the dish congeal a bit better, but it makes it somewhat stickier, too. Next time I might try omitting the flour. I will DEFINITELY make it again, though. So easy, and so good!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States