Gel's Green Beans and Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I submitted this recipe originally. It was supposed to be 1 1/2 teaspoons not tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Very good!! The only thing I would mention is to make sure your fresh green beans are VERY FRESH. If they are old, they don't get tender enough when cooked like this. The whole family loved it, even the toddler. Quick and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
My husband and I made this for dinner together last night. We first sauteed a half an onion, than we browned 1 lb of beef seasoned per the recipe. (Ginger amount should say teaspoons) We than added the soy and honey mixture and the green beans. We noticed that since we added more meat there wasn't enough liquid to simmer, so we added about another 2 tbsp of soy sauce and another tbsp of honey. Since we adjusted these amounts, I added a few more pinches of ginger and pepper. We served it over white rice and we absolutely loved it. This has the perfect amount of spice, and we were thinking of other ways to make it again. We both decided next time to try it with shredded carrots and snow peas. Thank you so much for this recipe, we really enjoyed it and are both looking forward to the leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
So flavorful! For a little kick, add a couple tablespoons of curry paste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
I added some salsa and corn, and decreased the soy sauce, and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I didn't really care for this. It was nothing special and was a little too spicy for us. We will not be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
What a great idea! Love this recipe AND this website. I find that so often I am just lost for meal ideas and get tired of the things which DO occur to me. This time I typed in ground beef and green beans and this recipe came up. The recipe submitter will probably be appalled to read that I made it, plunked it in a cassarole dish, topped it with tater tots , and baked it for 20 minutes. :+) But my kids LOVED it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
This recipe is so delicious!! It's very simple and a great sorce for protein! Sarap!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I don't know if I did something wrong but this came out horrible--it was super dry and I tried to add water to help steam but it just didn't work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This is very tasty! I thought that the honey would throw the falvors out of whack but it was very complimentary with the spicy ingredients. I increased the garlic (as usual). This could also be made with ground turkey and not be too dry or lack flavor. We served it with white rice. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States