Gel's Green Beans and Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
My family thought this recipe was horrible...too dry, sticky texture, no flavor. I used canned green beans instead of fresh, but that was the only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Awful. I used ground turkey instead of beef. I also added chopped onion, and minced garlic to the recipe. I'm very disappointed in the results. It could have been the turkey, I don't know, and I won't be finding out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I didn't really like this recipe too much. I'm not sure why. It was too gingery for my taste, and as it turns out I'm not a fan of green beans cooked this way. I substituted beef cubes for ground beef. Maybe that was my mistake, because I didnt alter the amount of spices I put in. May suit your tastebuds better than it did mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Yuk! There is way too much ginger in this recipe! I think no more than 1 teaspoon of ginger would be sufficient. I will try it again with the reduced amount of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
Green beans isn't one of my favorite vegies but these were pretty darn good. My wife liked these a lot. I did use real onions and garlic, otherwise I made this as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
What a great idea! Love this recipe AND this website. I find that so often I am just lost for meal ideas and get tired of the things which DO occur to me. This time I typed in ground beef and green beans and this recipe came up. The recipe submitter will probably be appalled to read that I made it, plunked it in a cassarole dish, topped it with tater tots , and baked it for 20 minutes. :+) But my kids LOVED it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This was very easy and very good. My husband and I really enjoyed this. As suggested I used 1 lb. of ground beef and made this our main course. Once my green beans were in I cooked it 10 minutes (at 7 minutes the beans were still a little on the crunchy side still). I only needed the amount of flour and water called for in the recipe, and I used the 96% lean ground beef. I also added a fresh onion instead of onion powder as suggested by other reviewers -- definitely a good thing and worth doing. My husband kept commenting on how sweet the onion got. I served it with steamed white rice. My husband kept adding spicy Chinese chili oil, and I tried it but actually preferred the recipe as is (and I adore spicy food). If you're looking for something quick and easy, this is the recipe. Next time we may add some bamboo shoots and/or water chestnuts. It might even be good with ground pork instead of ground beef. I think that this will become a regular dish around our house since it's so quick and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I used 1 lb of beef, and drained after cooking, then added spices and other ingredients. I used about 1 lb fresh grean beans... I added some worcestershire sauce since I didn't have enough soy sauce to double the recipe (since I was using twice the reccomended amount of meat). It was a wonderful flavor over all, and very easy to play with and adjust to your taste... I thought the beans were too crunchy, for my taste (my husband really liked them that way). And I also added about 1 cup of water with the flour, as there was no juice to thicken at the end! I served over rice. I also decreased the pepper to just a couple shakes, it still had a pretty strong peppery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe! It had excellent flavor and the only change that I made was to add 1 tablespoon of corn starch to the 3 tablespoons of water, it added a thickness to the mixture that I think really adds to the dish. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScullyKel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I see this as a great starting point for many other recipes. I also had no use for the flour and water combo at the end, but that is because I used a pound of beef. I left everything else the same. The flavor of the meat is excellent - I will be using it in other recipes (Sloppy Joe type sandwiches, stir-fried with fresh Chow Mein noodles, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States