Gel's Green Beans and Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Too much ginger - overpowered the other flavors. Didn't need to thicken the sauce and in fact had to water it down. Flavors blended but still didn't taste that great. Good as a starter recipe, but spices need to be adjusted. Glad everyone else liked it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I tweaked this recipe a bit, using leftover beef roast cut into strips instead of ground beef...I added a half cup of brown gravy to the sauce combo instead of the flour and water...and lemon zest on the finished product. It was awesome! Great Asian flavor with a twist. It would have been great over rice as well....but we loved it right out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This is such a wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONSHINE1296

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Ok, so yet AGAIN, people make a bunch of changes to a posted recipe, and give it 5 stars... *sigh* Well, *I* made this recipe as stated and - sorry - I thought it was horrible. In my opinion, the flavors don't work at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
GREAT FLAVOR! I reduced the amount of ginger to 1 1/2 teaspoons (per a review I read) and I used canned green beans. Usually, with canned green beans I fry a strip of bacon or use cubed ham for flavor. After preparing my green beans I added them to the recipe and it was great. Served over white rice. I would probably add some curry for color the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
My family loves this recipe. It is quick and delicious. It is now on our regular rotation. I serve it over brown rice. (Just make note of the incorrect ginger measurement, it should be 1 1/2 teaspoons, not tablespoons).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
we really like this, its fast and tasty and a good chinese food alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I submitted this recipe originally. It was supposed to be 1 1/2 teaspoons not tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This was surprisingly good. My whole family loved it (except my 13 year old, who finds just about everything "too spicy"). The ginger gives it a wonderful flavor. I used frozen whole green beans, and it came out great. I don't know if adding the flour is necessary--it makes the dish congeal a bit better, but it makes it somewhat stickier, too. Next time I might try omitting the flour. I will DEFINITELY make it again, though. So easy, and so good!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This had a good but strong flavor. I added more meat, green beans, and doubled the soy sauce and honey. I kept all of the spice ingredients the same excpet the ginger, I only used 1 Tb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States