Gel's Green Beans and Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
We all thought this recipe was great! What a wonderful was to make hamburger. I just cooked up a few pasta noodles and stirred them in for an entire meal! It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Looking at the ingredients, I was a bit skeptical, but I gave it a shot and my whole family enjoyed it. I served it to my (then) 2 year old and he asked for seconds! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Thought this was very good. Did add onions in lieu of the onion powder. Thanks for the recipe, hubby gets a little tired of meatloaf and casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Tasted really weird, probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
this was a bit boring for me.. and I had to add a whole cup and a half water because the beef kept soaking it up and it was too dry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I changed this recipe a lot. I made it as a main dish. First I sautéed 1/2 onion in a little oil then set aside in a small bowl. I browned 1 lb of ground beef, drained it then added ginger, garlic & 1/2 t black pepper (1t, would leave your mouth on fire) & no onion powder. Then I added 4 T. soy sauce & 3 T. honey. I stirred in frozen (thawed) green beans and the reserved onion & simmered for about 5 mins. I did not thicken since there was nothing to thicken. I served it over white rice. My husband said it needed more sauce, since there wasn’t any to soak up the rice & ate it but didn’t rave. Next time I make this I’m going to make the following changes. Increase the soy sauce to 1/3 C. & the honey to 1/4C and maybe add some sherry. I’m also going to add 1/4 C shredded carrots when I add the green beans. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I made this for dinner. Instead of onion powder, I sliced and sauted an onion. I only used 1 tablespoon of flour. I parboiled the green beans to soften them up before adding them to the ground beef. It was a hit at my house. It's a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
My son and I liked these green beans. My hubby doesn't like ginger, so he, of course, didn't. I made it as a side dish. Didn't use the flour and water at the end, it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
My husband and I made this for dinner together last night. We first sauteed a half an onion, than we browned 1 lb of beef seasoned per the recipe. (Ginger amount should say teaspoons) We than added the soy and honey mixture and the green beans. We noticed that since we added more meat there wasn't enough liquid to simmer, so we added about another 2 tbsp of soy sauce and another tbsp of honey. Since we adjusted these amounts, I added a few more pinches of ginger and pepper. We served it over white rice and we absolutely loved it. This has the perfect amount of spice, and we were thinking of other ways to make it again. We both decided next time to try it with shredded carrots and snow peas. Thank you so much for this recipe, we really enjoyed it and are both looking forward to the leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Quick, easy and very good. I used frozen green beans, and I didn't have quite enough ginger, but nevertheless, we really enjoyed this as something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States