Gel's Green Beans and Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Family did not care for it, too much....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Obviously TBSP is supposed to be TSP (as the original posted noted in the comments section). We LOVED this recipe! It is so excellent that we are using these flavors on chicken and shrimp and just about everything. This will be a regular meal in our house for sure! (we have 3 kids, (12y, 7y,5y) all loved it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Olive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Tried this tonight - awesome! I was skeptical cuz it was ground meat & not strips of beef/steak. It tasted great & was super easy to make. My changes - I used 1# of meat instead of half pound & I tripled the sauce recipe so that we had some to go w the rice (got that hint from other reviews).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I've made this recipe which I found in Betty Crocker cookbook, and used molasses instead of honey. Gives the sauce a nice brown color. And canned green beans work fine, although I imagine fresh would be a lot better. Serve it over rice, with French fried onions sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mercedes M. Ciolek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I haven't tried this yet but it looks like a 4 star....I would like to try this recipe but the main photo shows Ramen noodles in the recipe...how many packages?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Recipe is incomplete at best. Glad I read the reviews so I knew to REDUCE the ginger to 1 1/2 TEASPOONS instead of tablespoons. THAT would have been a disaster. Well, I added an onion, but didn't use ramen noodles (served over rice). I also made numerous other changes that my family expects (more veggies, less black pepper, added thai pepper, smidge of lime juice), so can only give 3-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Added some cayenne pepper and used brown sugar. Didn't have fresh green beans so I used canned. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
My family liked this. I would make again and serve over rice. I doubled the meat so I didn't need to thicken the sauce as there was just enough to keep it all moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
We LOVE this! It's one of the few ways I can get my picky toddler to eat green beans and my husband says this is his favorite meal. I slightly modified this by adding 1 pd. beef but I left everything else alone and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I thought this was just okay, so I'll give it a 3-star rating. Frankly, I was a little disappointed - the ingredient list made it sound interesting and a bit unusual, but it actually turned out to be slightly weird, for lack of a better word. I made it exactly as written, using 93% lean ground beef, and 1.5 teaspoons, instead of 1.5 tablespoons, of ground ginger (I happened to see the review purportedly from the recipe submitter, which mentioned this mistake). Maybe the taste was due to the dried spices burning a little? Not that I know they did, but the mixture in step 1 was not very wet. I probably won't try this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States