Gelatin Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was a very cool and refreshing dessert. I used strawberry jello and cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by m
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Easy idea to make a white cake into a strawberry cake. I home made the white cake and then frosted it with buttercream frosting. My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe and it was so easy to make. My family thoroughly enjoyed it and even asked for seconds. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Blacketer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
My family loves this cake. I like to experiment with different flavors of jello. I like to top it with the pudding frosting recipe from this site. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is a pretty good cake. It's definitely refreshing (which is good for those HOT summer days!). I changed a few things, but otherwise followed this recipe exactly. Like Traci B did, I too used a "funfetti" cake mix (i.e. Betty Crocker rainbow chip). I used sugar-free strawberry gelatin because I was baking for a diabetic friend (my fiance picked up a very small package - (4) 1/2 cup serving size) and it was just the right amount. I frosted my cake with cool whipped frosting (shirleyo) using all "light" or fat-free ingredients. It was the perfect complement to the cake - not too heavy and very similar to plain 'ol Cool-whip (which this recipe calls for anyways). For a finishing touch, I used rainbow sprinkles! The Bday boy (and gal) were very happy :) Thanks for this neat recipe. I will be trying the Zinger version next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I am giving five stars because it is so easy and delicious. I used lemon jello and it was really good. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make it again and experiment with other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I remember eating these as a kid, my mom would make these for cook-outs and family gatherings. So when I came across the recipe I decided to make one. I used the strawberry jello and it was very good. My whole family enjoyed it. I even made a sugar-free version for my diabetic Uncle and he loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Elswick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Absolutely delicious, can't wait to try it with orange jello and french vanilla cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I make this cake every 4th of July and add strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries on top of the cool whip to make it look like the flag. A huge hit, there are never leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Ahhhhhh, reminds me of my grammy's "jello" cake! She used a yellow cake mix baked as directed. Once cooled, poke holes throughout the cake with the back of a wooden spoon. Make the jello as directed then pour over the cake. (She always used cherry jello). I don't remember if she let the jello set before topping. I don't and it sets just fine in the frig. For the "icing" -she'd make pistachio pudding with 1 package of dream whip added in then make as directed on pudding box. When the pudding was ready, she'd "slather" on top of the cake then refrigerate. This was my 2nd most requested food item (the first being her peach cobbler). I hovered around the frig until time to get it out. LOL I've made a few times for my kids but they don't care much for it. I've used various flavors of jello but prefer cherry / pistachio combo - just like Grammy made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States