Gelatin-Flavored Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I reduced the butter as suggested by other reviewers. This was really good I ended up doing three batches of green apple, watermelon, and berry blue. Mixed all together and yum. I think it was easier to mix in a big bowl first though, the popcorn was coated better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Wow! This stuff is great. I too cut down the butter, though not QUITE by half. (Instead of 1 cup, I used 1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp.) So far I've done watermelon, cran-raspberry, apple, berry blue, and cherry. I have a question for all you more experienced candy makers out there, though. How the heck do I get it to hardball stage without scorching the sugar on the bottom?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
This one is great! I must admit I was a little leary of gelatin on my popcorn but I admit I have been pleasantly surprised. I like to seperate into batches using different flavored gelatin for a nice layered display in a clear glass bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe forever...Thank you..I used to buy this stuff for $6.99 it was a little bag and I always wanted more. Great recipe for kids, great snack for a kids party. Try making a few batches and mixing the Jello colors. My family just loved it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
very simple to make, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
My kids loved this. I did not make it in to balls - just had big chunks of this great tasting orange popcorn. Easy snack to make for kids of all ages :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I love this! I made it for my dad for a father's day treat. It tastes great mixed with other popcorn recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I used only half the butter called for in the recipe (good thing since I wound up eating almost all of it in one day)! It worked just fine, and next time I am going to try cutting back on the sugar. I made green "Shrek" popcorn, and my 6 year old loved it. We sprinkled it with green colored sugar for a little extra "sparkle." Thanks Grandma Berthie, for this fun party recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
This recipe was very cool we had a lot of fun making it. I modified a little bit and only used 1/3 c butter and I did not roll into balls instead I lightly mixed th epopcorn with the sugar mix and the peices got partially coated. It was great just like the flavored popcorn at the mall. One note though, I live in a very humid area and by mid-day the popcorn all started to melt together. Dry days would be best for this treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Awesome-- I had never tried any recipe like this before! It will make my 2nd graders class very happy=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States