Gelatin-Flavored Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Really yummy candied popcorn! Changes I made to the recipe: used 2 Tbsp Coconut Oil to 1/2 Cup unpopped kernels. Picked out any unpopped kernels. Used 1/2 cup unsalted butter, reduced water to 2 Tbsp, added 10 drops more food coloring to brighten the finished look. Added 10 drops of sour drops to brighten the fruity flavors. Cooked the syrup for 4 minutes after boiling. Removed from heat and stirred in 1/4 tsp baking soda. The 300 degree oven was just too hot. It caramelized the candy. I dropped the temp to 240 and left the popcorn in for 1/2 hour to dry it out. After these changes, I am thrilled with the light, tangy-sweet crisp texture and beautiful color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is absolutely fabulous The only thing I might try is reducing the butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I always have trouble with pouring hot things onto popcorn. Like butter. The popcorn shrivels up. What is the trick to keeping the popcorn normal size?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
We just made this for the Psych sleepover party. We used 1/2 c butter and 1/2 c sugar and island pineapple Jello. When the mix came to a boil we boiled it, whisking constantly for 4 minutes, like another reviewer suggested. Then baked it at 300 for 10 minutes....AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Used 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, 1/2 cup sugar and the rest of the ingredients as indicated. Didn't use a thermometer. When mixture started to boil, I started a timer and boiled for 4 minutes exactly. I had the popcorn in a large bowl and poured the mixture on top, stirred to coat evenly and then pour the popcorn in the greased baking pan in the oven at 250 for about 30-40 minutes stirring every 10 minutes. I used strawberry gelatin and I liked how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Totally addicting. But does anyone know the difference of the end result between using this recipe and the recipe using marshmallow?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made this the way as directed and then with the decrease in butter. The decrease in butter was the winner. The difference is the crispiness. The 1 cup of butter gives it a gummy sort of texture. We mixed them together and it was still a hit. We made cherry and blue raspberry. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
ATTENTION: You'll want to read this!! To cut down on the mess take a roaster out of it's warmer and put the popcorn in it. It holds all of it very well and fits in an oven just fine. This allows you to stir it without making a mess too. Plus you don't have to divide it up so it's much easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was much easier than I'd imagined. I did some modifications as suggested by others, 1/2 C butter and a more popcorn. I also added 1 Tbsp of honey. I think 10min was a little long in my oven, but that could just be me. I made this for my son's Kindergarten class, used strawberry jello & added a spoon full of milk chocolate chips to each serving after it had cooled. They all loved it! We'll be doing this again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colstrip, Montana, USA
Living In: East Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I just have a question, can you add food coloring to this? I was hoping to make pink popcorn for a princess bday party?? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States