Gelatin Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I'm so glad i came across your gelatin divinity recipe. The candy is so pretty and the fruity taste from the gelatin just makes it more tasty than plain old divinity. Just a tip, when I make divinity or fudge I turn on my dehuidifier,as high humidity can cause the candy to not set up. This recipe will definitely become a holiday tradition in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
So sinfully good. The hubby couldn't resist helping me make this one. He coudln't resist the smell. Hehe. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
this is a good recipe, love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
These were perfect! I made these for a baby shower (for a baby girl) and not only was the color perfect for the occasion but everyone loved the cherry kick in this divinity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaGurlie73

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Excellent... I'm getting the my Christmas candy list prepared and test out new recipes to use at the holiday. This one is a keeper. I used strawberry banana jello and it was pretty & good. I think I'll try to dry out some cherries and mix those in with the nuts. Oh and since it is humid out here in southeast Texas, I did keep out 2 tablespoons of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars for ease of preparation and texture, but know that it will taste like jello since you are using gelatin to flavor it. I made a double batch of cherry and had a blast whipping it up and prying it out of the bowl. I used a dry wooden spatula to spread it better in the pan (I used 2 cookie sheets) once it set slightly. The next time I made a batch of cherry, I put several drops of peppermint oil in the boiling sugar mixture. As far as cutting and packaging this candy, I've cut into squares and I've also handrolled small tubes using confectioner sugar coated hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaLC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estell Manor, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This divinity is fail proof. Even when I didn’t cook it long enough the taste was in-creditable. I used strawberry jell-O… and it tasted great too. It is also beautiful to serve. Special note: When cutting the divinity, dip knife in large glass of cold water. This will help keep the knife clean between slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Wonderful divinity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Wonderful recipe! I made it with lime gelatin, and also with raspberry. Both taste fantastic. As a newbie to candy making, I was not too sure about the whipping "until the candy loses its gloss," so each batch I made came out a little different texture-wise. But all the candy was deliciously edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is the same recipe that my grandmother used. She passed many years ago when I was still in grade school and I have tried several times to make this. Thank you so much for bringing me back to a christmas tradition that I have missed for so long. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

JELL-O Creepy Crawly JIGGLERS

See how to turn JELL-O gelatin into frightfully fun Halloween spiders.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Sliced Watermelon Jell-O® Shots

See how to super-fun watermelon Jell-O shots. They’re cute with a kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States