Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This recipe is a keeper! I don't like to review recipes that I have modified, but my changes are minor and personal. Swapped Red pepper for green, omitted the tarragon, and added a splash of worcestershire. Fun to make and a big hit with friends and family. Thanks for sharing Kara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This is a great, simple recipe. I served it to friends for a special birthday lunch, and they loved it. I didn't change anything, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyoracle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Used fresh heirloom tomatoes and the flavor was amazing. I also don't like the texture of dried herbs so only used fresh. Made a couple of substitutions; cilantro instead of parsley and jalapeno instead of bell pepper. I like a kick! A drizzle of high quality olive oil at the end added a nice velvety texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I only loosely followed this recipe - I used what I had from the ingredient list (everything except fresh onion, green bell pepper, and I just forgot the red wine vinegar) and sort of winged it on the measurements (a credit to my laziness) and it turned out great! I used Spicy V8 for the tomato juice and added some dried jalapeno (no fresh :( ) I'm letting it chill for awhile before I eat any more of it, but overall this was really easy and gave me the results I was looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Loved that I was able to use my Vitamix for this. Nice cool refreshing lunch for a hot summer day. It was a bit strong of onion and garlic so I would cut those back next time. I left mine a little bit chunky and may go a little smoother next time. I would consider scalding the tomatoes and removing the skins if leaving chunky but if I go for a smoother textured gazpacho the skins would blend right in. V-8 worked great in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Just a suggestion for those who commented on the gazpacho taking on a "muddy" colour. If you hold the cilantro and other herbs until after you have blended the soup, then stir the herbs in by hand, it will keep the soup looking brighter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This is the first gazpacho that I have ever made. I wasn't sure I was going to like it, based on past experience, but this was just great. I substituted red bell pepper for the green and used vidallia onion. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Very easy and very tasty. I sauteed the onion and garlic first, used an Anaheim pepper instead of bell, fresh basil instead of dried. It was very tasty that night, even better the next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I'm giving this 4 stars. It's great for a light summer lunch or dinner. I followed the recipe, but I think when I make this again, I'll use 1/2 of a garlic clove. I felt like there was just a bit too much bite from the raw garlic. Or, I suppose you could take the advice of another reviewer and cook the garlic for a minute prior to adding it. Otherwise, this was a really nice recipe and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Delicious. A friend told me about this recipe. I altered it a bit and added jalapeno pepper, and didn't have basil. I also used 3 cups of V8 low sodium juice and added a can of diced tomatoes that I did blend. It does have the consistency of salsa if you put everything in the food processor, but I really liked that. Love it, love that it's healthy and cold on a summer day and love the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States