Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
My husband and I both love this soup! I do use V8, instead of tomato juice, but otherwise follow the recipe. I make this very frequently in the summer and guests love it too! I serve it before the meal instead of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I thought this was just okay as written. At the time I made this, I had never tasted gazpacho and didn't know what I was aiming for, but was making it for my hubby & his grandmother who love the stuff. Per other reviews, I used V8 instead of tomato juice, but have since learned that V8 is probably what killed this dish. I also added worcestershire sauce, and lime juice to perk it up, and I'd stick with those additions. This was an easy recipe, but not impressive. I've since found Alton Brown's gazpacho recipe, which is fantastic although labor intensive. If you decide to continue with this recipe, please don't repeat my mistake of the V8 juice substitution--stick with tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
From what I can tell from the other reviews, exact measurement is not always necessary. I did try to stick to this particular recipe as much as I could, but my own tastes often lead me down different paths. This is a great recipe to "live a little" and it's easy to customize. VERY TASTY and a great hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Very easy and refreshing during hot weather. As others have said in their reviews, eating this gazpacho is sort of like eating salsa. Be advised that this recipe yields a lot of servings. My husband and I ate it with French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I used cold tomato juice to speed up the chilling process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUNABABY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Delish. I always add a small can of chopped green chilies and 2 avocados, one blended and one chopped. I use only a small amount of the tomato juice when blending just half the veggies, this keeps the finished soup from being too muddy. Then use the alligator chopper on the rest of the veggies to have a chunky soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I'll give this recipe 4 stars because my husband loved it. Otherwise, I wasn't too impressed. I used spicy V8 juice as other reviewers had recommended. I guess I was expecting more flavor because it tasted bland to me. Will only make again for my hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this in my blender. Very quick and easy with lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I had leftover tomato juice after making salsa and have now made this twice. Each time I have added cilantro and a jalapeno, which does make it taste like a watery salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jasper, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
i would add more garlic...but besides that this is my favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States