Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I am not a huge fan of cold soups, but this summer I've been wanting gazpacho and have been looking for a recipe that looked "safe" (since I'm picky). This recipe is definitely a keeper. Modifications: I halved the recipe, used V8 instead of plain tomato juice (for extra veggie flavor), canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh and left out the tarragon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
halved the recipe and used one can(26oz) of whole peeled tomatoes instead of tomato juice and chopped tomatoes(about 24oz combined). tomato juice tastes too artificial to me. also used yellow pepper to make it more colorful and added 5 tbsp of parsley instead of 2 in halved recipe. this recipe is a true keeper. so easy, tasty & refreshing. served with chickpea salad over a bed of baby spanich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
A number of years ago I would go to a small restaurant here once a week for gazpacho. This recipe was close to the one I loved. I did use 1/2 spicy v8 and 1/2 reg. v8, and added small amount of dill and chives. I do NOT blend it at all! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This tasted fine after I adjusted the seasonings. I thought it was a little bland, so I added a lot more herbs. It tasted better, but the red color definitely took on a brownish cast. The onion was a little overpowering, in both flavor and texture, so I will use less next time. I will keep this on hand for snacking, it just wasn't wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I agree with the reviewer who suggested to "use what's on hand". It's summer now and fresh stuff is everywhere so I used all fresh herbs. I also scaled back on the tomato juice and used "Spicy V8" instead. I also used a red pepper instead of green...just because I don't care for green peppers and it's my soup, right? Oh, and I used Balsalmic instead of red wine to give a bit deeper red hue. Yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazenfree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This recipe is a great starting point. Experiment with your favorite flavors. I sub diced canned tomatoes, Spicy V8 for the juice, add a couple of diced avocado's and a pound of cooked salad shrimp for a complete refreshing meal on a hot summer night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This was quick and YUMMY! My son (age 24) and his friend raved about it! I added fresh chopped parsley and cilantro, no tarragon, and used fresh tomatoes. I will definitely make this many more times! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very tasty. I added a hot banana pepper and some hot sauce. My husband loved it! He already has planned to take the leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I love this recipe. I add in 1 minced jalapeno and an extra clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Amazing, quick, and easy. In place of cucumbers, we used zucchini and in place of tomato juice, V8 spicy hot, 1 LARGE spanish onion in place of the other three, as well as three cloves of fresh garlic. Super super easy, great. Next time, we may use regular v8 for one cup and 3 cups of spicy hot. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States