Gazpacho Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was very flavorful and fresh-tasting. I added red cabbage because I had to use some up, omitted the celery, and used Roasted Tomatillo and Garlic Salsa, from this site, which added a great flavor. Next time, I'll use my favorite, nontraditional gazpacho recipe: tomato, yellow pepper, corn, apple, cider vinegar, garlic, and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
What a wonderful salad. I love gazpacho & do have a favorite recipe which I combined with this one. Added a few more fresh veggies - radishes, zucchini, cauliflower & sliced black olives. As far as the dressing goes, I used clamato juice and substituted bottled hot sauce and worchestershire sauce for the salsa. I mixed the cabbage and everything else together but the dressing as I didn't want it to get too soggy as I knew there would be leftovers as I made the whole recipe for just me. It is a keeper!!! I have made it twice in the past 2 weeks!! Great for a picnic as there is no mayo or anything that can spoil in the sun/heat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Used bagged slaw, added cilantro and jalapeno with the vegetables, used lime instead of lemon, a little more V-8 and a little less vinegar. Tossed with diced avocado before serving. Beautiful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I love gazpacho soup, so I thought I'd give this a try. It was well worth it even though I misread the recipe and added more olive oil than it called for. I didn't have any red wine vinegar on hand, so I used equal amounts of red wine and a light oriental rice vinegar instead. It turned out just fine. We had some leftover, so I drained all the liquid off. Tomorrow I'll add more V8 to it and make Gaspacho Soup with it for our lunch. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Interesting and quite tasty. I planned to make without subs (except omitting the celery as per personal preference), but midway realized that I didn't have V-8 so subbed tomato sauce. I love V-8 and am sure it would be better with V-8 so I'm looking forward to making this again. The only change I might make next time is to make a bit more dressing. Anyway, this is a keeper! (PS: I used bagged angel hair cut cabbage. The bag I bought was right at five cups.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was OK, not great, not bad. I probably cut my cabbage too thick, but that's how I tend to like it. We didn't think the flavors blended all that well. There just wasn't a lot of flavor for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This dish was great! Nice, full flavor and really easy to throw together. Nutritional value is great also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
The only changes I made were to use red bell pepper instead of yellow, and I added a little more V8 as the lemon juice and red wine vinegar made it a little too tart for my taste. I really liked this - easy, refreshing and pretty too. Thanks, florida gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I really liked this slaw but found it a bit acidic. I used Picante-V8 for more zing. Will make this again but cut back on the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This works with bagged coleslaw subbed in for the cabbage. We added a handful of chopped cilantro to the salad, too - really added to the taste. This is also good with a zesty Italian dressing. We ate it right away and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States