Gazpacho Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
EXCELLENT! I made a couple changes like others suggested. I doubled this recipe for a small group and had lots left over but my sister wanted a bunch of it for lunch. Instead of fresh tomatoes (not in season now), I used a can of Rotelle - "Milder" and a 16 oz jar of mild salsa, then I left out the tomato juice, jalepeno and bell pepper (my bro-in-law is allergic). I might add more lime juice next time since it added such a good flavor but could have been a little stronger in my opinion - I LOVE citrus flavor. I loved the cucumber in this. I seeded it first and that might not have been necessary. But it cuts the spiciness wonderfully. LOTS of compliments and requests for this recipe. Storing this one in my recipe box! Thanks! Oh, I also used 1/2 red onion diced finely instead of green onion. A tad sweeter in my opinion. I made this again for 4th of July and made a couple changes. I used a jar of salsa and one tomato. Used the green onions this time since I had them and they were GREAT. Also used 1/2 bunch of cilantro since that flavor is so good. It's MUCH better the second day so make ahead. I can't imagine anyone saying this is bland. The salsa might be the key. The best pasta salad I've ever made or eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
This was fantastic. I substituted a jar of salsa for the tomatoes, tomato juice, jalapeno and bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I was looking for a change from the usual mayo based salads and decided on this since we love Gazpacho soup. From past experience I cut the amount of jalapeno which we believe to be a wise decision. I also used V8 juice (or a good Bloody Mary mix would work) and that gave it more of a taste. I used more juice than called for as experience has taught pasta absorbs liquid and with the amount given it was going to really soak in. Finally I added a touch more salt as that balances the lime a bit better, and added fresh chopped basil, flat leaf parsley, and cilantro. This passed the 'husband review' with flying colours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
This recipe was outstanding. I loved the jalapeno pepper in it--gave it a just-right kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
A very tasty and different way to use abundant garden vegetables. I did not add the fresh jalapeno but mixed in some hot giardiniera along with its pickling juice. It added a good amount of zest to both the salad and the dressing. This salad makes a pretty presentation in a glass with a little of the tomato juice dressing at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This is one of my favorite recipes and I make it exactly like the recipe says. I do toss the pasta with oil right after I drain it, which might help reduce the absorption of the dressing. It's important to use canned tomato juice (such as Campbell's) because it's thicker. When I use the leftover liquid/juice from a can of tomatoes, the dressing isn't good. One time I was eating this for lunch and my friend said it smelled "so good."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I made this for my Memorial Day cookout, and it was good. I used Spicy V8 juice instead of tomato juice, and also added a jar of chipotle salsa. I still found it to be bland, but my guests raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Excellent summer pasta salad. Light and fresh with the perfect combination of veggies and and a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I recommend adding more seasoning. We added Greek seasoning at the table, and it was the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
A great summer salad! Everyone raved about it. Takes a bit of time to chop everything, but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States