Gazpacho II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was a very good Gazpacho recipe, although I still made some changes to suit my personal tastes. Instead of plum tomatoes, I used two fairly large heirloom tomatoes that I picked at a farm the day before (I like more tomatoes in my gazpacho). Instead of canned tomato juice, I used juice that I had strained from seeds of tomatoes I'd used for sauce the previous day (much brighter, fresher taste) - I only used about 10 ounces of juice. I omitted the olive oil and hot sauce, as well as the garnishes (I even left the garlic out). I added an entire bunch of cilantro, because I simply love that flavor with tomatoes. I will definitely be making this again (but with all my above-mentioned changes)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Awesome~ The flavors mixed together nicely after sitting for several hours before serving. I added a littl more hot sauce for our preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBROSIA1968

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
For a little extra "oomph" - substitute Bloody Mary mix for the tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Wesserling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I don't use tomato juice because I don't like it, so I just put two tomatoes in the food processor with the other ingredients as noted, then chopped the other two. I enjoyed this dish a great deal and will take the left-overs for lunch tomorrow! I served it with some corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine and Matthew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I followed this to the letter and the recipe is easy and very tasty. I like the idea of adding cilantro (another reviewer)- I love cilantro, but I know that not everyone does. Not that it needs cilantro, but it would give additional dimension. The one negative thing about this recipe is the use of a blender. My blender is the standard 40 oz Hamilton Beach and it was not up to the task of pureeing the vegetables (smelled the motor burning!) - I transferred everything to the food processor which worked great for this task and in an instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! I made it last summer while I was pregnant (and had so many things I could NOT eat!) and I just dug out the recipe to make it again this year! Its easy, healthy, and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Very good recipe. I prefer to blend all the ingredients and for some crunch, I cut up some granny smith apples and put them on top. It adds a sweet twist. Also, I reduced the amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I skipped the olive oil and I'm glad I did. I food processed the onion, cucumber and cilantro (added the cilantro) instead of blending. I think it ends up being a little chunkier that way. I also switched out the onion for a combination of shallots and green onions. Finally, I probably used 25% less tomato juice and just added until I got the consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I didn't like it at all. I thought it tasted like salsa. Maybe I did something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Very refreshing, although thick. Substitued the pimentos for jalapenos as we have an allergy in the family, and it turned out great. So easy since you don't need to cook anything but the croutons, and it makes enough to be frozen easily. I found this to be even more delicious the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States