Gazpacho Andaluz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Review from Spain. Only Red Bell Pepper is missed for a true Gazpacho Andaluz. Also, when all ingredients are blended and liquified, most times you don't need to add any water or bread crumbs, because the vegetables give the accurate density; water and bread are used only for change density to more liquid or more thick, otherwise they are not used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I was very disappointed in this soup. There was very little tomato flavour(I followed the recipe faithfully), and I felt that the bread content overpowered the soup.This had a little resemblance to what I had in Spain this past February.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I gave this a 4 because it is a true Spanish Gazpacho recipe. However, it can be improved with some more onion, garlic, and a little bit of ground comino. I also added more salt. I lived with a Spanish family for a while and that was how my "senora" made it. My consistnecy was fine and I didn't need the bread, and used only 3 cups of water. Serve it with Tortilla Espanola for a truly Spanish meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
should have read the other reviews first...i agree - what this recipe creates is nothing like what i had in andalucia this summer. there is very little tomato flavor, and unless you blend the c$%p out of it, it is a mealy bready mush. even then it was very bland and saved only by the quick thinking of a chef friend, who turned it into something very very non-gazpacho.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Just what I was looking for - an authentic Spanish recipe. I used about 1/3 bread and no water (except to soak the bread in) as the tomatoes and the cucumber were watery enough for my taste, but this may vary from time to time during the season. After 6 hours in the fridge during a hot day it was perfect (and wonderful to be finished with preparing the evening meal before noon!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I am from Spain and this is a close as a real gazpacho recipe...no spices..no shrimps..the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I, too, should have read the reviews before following this recipe. I followed it closely ... and am left with a vat of pink bread mush with a slight gazpacho-like perfume. I plan to carry it for my lunch at the office this week, topping each serving off with an additional hit of wine vinegar to supply missing "zing," but I'm not sure I will be able to stomach it for five days! Very disappointing ... and such a waste of tomatoes! I have had gazpacho in Spain, and so, was not surprised to see bread as a component ... but I should have known better than to make it such a LARGE component!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Authentic and good, like mine a little thinner so didn't add but a little bread and of course a couple extra cloves of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Excellent recipe! And true to its originis, especially in its use of good crusty stale bread and in its omission of many ingredients that have nothing to do with the authentic recipe. I am originally from Spain and live there part of the year, so my rating is based upon native knowledge. One must add that it is impossible to create a good gazpacho using grocery store blah tomatoes. This recipe calls for the very best, juiciest, tastiest tomatoes one can find, usually from a hothouse or family farm. Thank you for including it, it jogged my memory and I will use it as soon as my tomatoes are ready to be picked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
To my taste, this recipe has too much water and too much bread. Some recipes call for no water at all, no oil, and no bread. Gazpacho made almost entirely from tomatoes, onions, cucumbers, and peppers is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States