Gazpacho Andaluz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
very garlicky and somewhat strong on the cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is quite yummy, although of course I made changes. I'm giving the recipe a three, because it doesn't make sense as written. Eight cups of water?? For what? I'm wondering if that's the water intended for blanching the tomatoes (in order to peel them). And why put everything in a stock pot if it's not to be cooked? Anyway, I just peeled my tomates and stuck them in the food processor with the cuke, bell pepper and garlic. I also added a jalapeno and part of a banana pepper, then pureed the whole thing. I added about a quarter of a baguette, and I really love the subtle flavor of the bread in the soup. I added olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
As I have been limited by the available publishing space, here is the follow-up to my recipe—it's nothing without the following serving instructions. On the side in separate bowls for self-service: Small diced green bell pepper - Small diced red bell pepper - Small diced yellow bell pepper; Small diced cucumber; Quartered sun-ripened organic red cherry or grape tomatoes; Quartered sun-ripened organic yellow cherry or grape tomatoes. (All above ingredients must be chilled and served at the last minute.) Small cubes of loaf stale French bread lightly pan-browned in olive oil - Ice cubes to be stirred in slightly to dilute the soup plate (refreshing and a nice visual effect) – And a carafe of olive oil. I recommend the Catalan Estornell; widely available in the U.S.A., the label has a starling bird on it – it's made from Arbequinas, a mild, sweet olive variety, though climate, altitude, weather conditions, and lots of other factors determine the flavor - or the Andalucian family's four groves, around Baena, in the Cordoba province, production of Núñez de Prado Flor de Aceite, their numbered bottles are available at Dean and Deluca; both these first cold-pressing organic extra virgin oils are pricey though not insanely so, but in my opinion are the best table (not for cooking) Spanish olive oils. ! Buen apetito! J.P.G. The recipe makes 8 cups of soup (7 servings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keysy from the Florida Keys

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tavernier, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is the closest receipe for gazpacho I have found to what we had in Seville Spain during our time there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I love this recipe! I am always looking for new soup recipes and this one was right up my alley, of course I am not as cosmopolitan as some, so I ended up heating this but only enough to take the chill off. I believe that set the flavors off wonderfully. My entire office is raving about this and I have already passed on the recipe. Beautiful job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is a great gazpacho recipe. My mother-in-law is Spanish, and she always made this for my husband. This is the first time I have made it that he has been satisfied as to its authenticity. BUT, don't add so much water!! I didn't add any water, just some ice (in the blender) to make it cold rather than room temperature. Otherwise, the flavor will be too watered down and the consistency will be too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
To my taste, this recipe has too much water and too much bread. Some recipes call for no water at all, no oil, and no bread. Gazpacho made almost entirely from tomatoes, onions, cucumbers, and peppers is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Excellent recipe! And true to its originis, especially in its use of good crusty stale bread and in its omission of many ingredients that have nothing to do with the authentic recipe. I am originally from Spain and live there part of the year, so my rating is based upon native knowledge. One must add that it is impossible to create a good gazpacho using grocery store blah tomatoes. This recipe calls for the very best, juiciest, tastiest tomatoes one can find, usually from a hothouse or family farm. Thank you for including it, it jogged my memory and I will use it as soon as my tomatoes are ready to be picked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Authentic and good, like mine a little thinner so didn't add but a little bread and of course a couple extra cloves of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I, too, should have read the reviews before following this recipe. I followed it closely ... and am left with a vat of pink bread mush with a slight gazpacho-like perfume. I plan to carry it for my lunch at the office this week, topping each serving off with an additional hit of wine vinegar to supply missing "zing," but I'm not sure I will be able to stomach it for five days! Very disappointing ... and such a waste of tomatoes! I have had gazpacho in Spain, and so, was not surprised to see bread as a component ... but I should have known better than to make it such a LARGE component!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States