Gazpacho Andaluz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Reminds me of Spain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hataxa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This recipe is wonderfull without changing anything except the water, I just put water enough to move the tomatoes in the mixer. My husband is from Andalucia & he loves it in hot summer days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I followed it exactly except for the water and bread. This recipe definitely doesn't need 8 cups of water. DON'T ADD WATER AT ALL!!!! If this recipe didn't have it I'm sure it would be a flawless five. As for the bread, I probably used less than 1/3 of a loaf of french bread, that was completely stale. The bread added a creaminess to it, so I would definitely add it again. Oh, and I also added a red pepper too, as another reviewer said to add. Too bad good tomatoes only come in the summer! I'd be a size two in record time! I could live off this soup, it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Was looking to try a quick Gazpacho recipe and very pleased with this one. Didn't have time to go get flavorful tomatoes from the garden/farm (living in center of the city!) so I used 2 boxes (26oz) Pomi tomatoes (crushed). Turned out well (in my opinion). Used a yellow bell pepper instead of green (that's what I had on hand). Also, didn't add water or bread. Added a little extra garlic. Also, threw some basil and cilantro in the food processor as well. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kaminski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Solana Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This had good flavor and the wine vinegar is a must. However, I thought I could substitute the French bread for a whole wheat kind but it gives it a grainy texture. I would suggest using white bread next time so you get a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I wanted something to take me back to my month in Spain and this was it. It's even better the second day. Five stars. My only changes: use a red pepper instead of green and adjust the amount you make because I had gazpacho coming out of my ears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwaggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Gazpacho is different anywhere you get it. This recipe makes a nice creamy base. I like my gazpacho thicker so it was perfect for me. Tips: Just use your blender or food processor in batches. No need to dirty a stock pot. Pour the olive oil over the bread before blending and leave out the water except for a couple ice cubes right before you serve it. I doubled the garlic, halved the bread and it made a very nice smooth texture with a body capable of supporting chopped fresh vegetable garnish. Fantastic fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckykris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brynn
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
i don't know how many modifications i'm allowed to state before it officially becomes a different recipe entirely! :) a small backstory: i had the best gazpacho of my life at the (then) sheraton in key largo. (never been to spain however i've eaten in a number of spanish restaurants) i've been trying to replicate it ever since. -used 8 tomatoes, skins removed but seeds intact -NO water -1/2 cuke is all i had -2 cloves of garlic -handful of cilantro -no green peppers on hand, used 1/2 of a yellow and 1/2 of a orange -no french bread on hand, used the "heels" of an old rye loaf instead; just the two small pieces -reduced to 1 tsp olive oil -about 1/4 cup regular white vinegar -about 1/2 tsp salt -added a jalepeno pepper ...and then blended the whole lot with a cuisinart hand blender (love that thing!). other than that, i followed the recipe. :) definitely some gazpacho i can stand behind! i think reducing (or eliminating) both the water and amount of bread allowed the tomato flavors to come out. definitely try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Not sure what I ate last week, but it wasn't that good. Very little flavor and very mealy from all the bread. Perhaps that if one has had gazpacho from spain, there is a base knowledge of what it's supposed to be like, so tinkering with it isn't a mystery. I also think there's a lack of clear direction in this recipe. Tasted ok once i dumped a lot of garlic powder in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeakycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
this looked and was the same consistency as the gazpacho I ate in spain - but it wasn't garlicky enough... it was very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States