Gazpacho Andaluz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brynn
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
i don't know how many modifications i'm allowed to state before it officially becomes a different recipe entirely! :) a small backstory: i had the best gazpacho of my life at the (then) sheraton in key largo. (never been to spain however i've eaten in a number of spanish restaurants) i've been trying to replicate it ever since. -used 8 tomatoes, skins removed but seeds intact -NO water -1/2 cuke is all i had -2 cloves of garlic -handful of cilantro -no green peppers on hand, used 1/2 of a yellow and 1/2 of a orange -no french bread on hand, used the "heels" of an old rye loaf instead; just the two small pieces -reduced to 1 tsp olive oil -about 1/4 cup regular white vinegar -about 1/2 tsp salt -added a jalepeno pepper ...and then blended the whole lot with a cuisinart hand blender (love that thing!). other than that, i followed the recipe. :) definitely some gazpacho i can stand behind! i think reducing (or eliminating) both the water and amount of bread allowed the tomato flavors to come out. definitely try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Review from Spain. Only Red Bell Pepper is missed for a true Gazpacho Andaluz. Also, when all ingredients are blended and liquified, most times you don't need to add any water or bread crumbs, because the vegetables give the accurate density; water and bread are used only for change density to more liquid or more thick, otherwise they are not used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
this looked and was the same consistency as the gazpacho I ate in spain - but it wasn't garlicky enough... it was very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Just what I was looking for - an authentic Spanish recipe. I used about 1/3 bread and no water (except to soak the bread in) as the tomatoes and the cucumber were watery enough for my taste, but this may vary from time to time during the season. After 6 hours in the fridge during a hot day it was perfect (and wonderful to be finished with preparing the evening meal before noon!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I am from Spain and this is a close as a real gazpacho recipe...no spices..no shrimps..the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Authentic and good, like mine a little thinner so didn't add but a little bread and of course a couple extra cloves of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Excellent recipe! And true to its originis, especially in its use of good crusty stale bread and in its omission of many ingredients that have nothing to do with the authentic recipe. I am originally from Spain and live there part of the year, so my rating is based upon native knowledge. One must add that it is impossible to create a good gazpacho using grocery store blah tomatoes. This recipe calls for the very best, juiciest, tastiest tomatoes one can find, usually from a hothouse or family farm. Thank you for including it, it jogged my memory and I will use it as soon as my tomatoes are ready to be picked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is a great gazpacho recipe. My mother-in-law is Spanish, and she always made this for my husband. This is the first time I have made it that he has been satisfied as to its authenticity. BUT, don't add so much water!! I didn't add any water, just some ice (in the blender) to make it cold rather than room temperature. Otherwise, the flavor will be too watered down and the consistency will be too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I love this recipe! I am always looking for new soup recipes and this one was right up my alley, of course I am not as cosmopolitan as some, so I ended up heating this but only enough to take the chill off. I believe that set the flavors off wonderfully. My entire office is raving about this and I have already passed on the recipe. Beautiful job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is the closest receipe for gazpacho I have found to what we had in Seville Spain during our time there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States