Gazpacho Andaluz Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
Review from Spain. Only Red Bell Pepper is missed for a true Gazpacho Andaluz. Also, when all ingredients are blended and liquified, most times you don't need to add any water or bread crumbs, because the vegetables give the accurate density; water and bread are used only for change density to more liquid or more thick, otherwise they are not used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I am from Spain and this is a close as a real gazpacho recipe...no spices..no shrimps..the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Excellent recipe! And true to its originis, especially in its use of good crusty stale bread and in its omission of many ingredients that have nothing to do with the authentic recipe. I am originally from Spain and live there part of the year, so my rating is based upon native knowledge. One must add that it is impossible to create a good gazpacho using grocery store blah tomatoes. This recipe calls for the very best, juiciest, tastiest tomatoes one can find, usually from a hothouse or family farm. Thank you for including it, it jogged my memory and I will use it as soon as my tomatoes are ready to be picked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is a great gazpacho recipe. My mother-in-law is Spanish, and she always made this for my husband. This is the first time I have made it that he has been satisfied as to its authenticity. BUT, don't add so much water!! I didn't add any water, just some ice (in the blender) to make it cold rather than room temperature. Otherwise, the flavor will be too watered down and the consistency will be too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
As I have been limited by the available publishing space, here is the follow-up to my recipe—it's nothing without the following serving instructions. On the side in separate bowls for self-service: Small diced green bell pepper - Small diced red bell pepper - Small diced yellow bell pepper; Small diced cucumber; Quartered sun-ripened organic red cherry or grape tomatoes; Quartered sun-ripened organic yellow cherry or grape tomatoes. (All above ingredients must be chilled and served at the last minute.) Small cubes of loaf stale French bread lightly pan-browned in olive oil - Ice cubes to be stirred in slightly to dilute the soup plate (refreshing and a nice visual effect) – And a carafe of olive oil. I recommend the Catalan Estornell; widely available in the U.S.A., the label has a starling bird on it – it's made from Arbequinas, a mild, sweet olive variety, though climate, altitude, weather conditions, and lots of other factors determine the flavor - or the Andalucian family's four groves, around Baena, in the Cordoba province, production of Núñez de Prado Flor de Aceite, their numbered bottles are available at Dean and Deluca; both these first cold-pressing organic extra virgin oils are pricey though not insanely so, but in my opinion are the best table (not for cooking) Spanish olive oils. ! Buen apetito! J.P.G. The recipe makes 8 cups of soup (7 servings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keysy from the Florida Keys

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tavernier, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Just what I was looking for - an authentic Spanish recipe. I used about 1/3 bread and no water (except to soak the bread in) as the tomatoes and the cucumber were watery enough for my taste, but this may vary from time to time during the season. After 6 hours in the fridge during a hot day it was perfect (and wonderful to be finished with preparing the evening meal before noon!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I, too, should have read the reviews before following this recipe. I followed it closely ... and am left with a vat of pink bread mush with a slight gazpacho-like perfume. I plan to carry it for my lunch at the office this week, topping each serving off with an additional hit of wine vinegar to supply missing "zing," but I'm not sure I will be able to stomach it for five days! Very disappointing ... and such a waste of tomatoes! I have had gazpacho in Spain, and so, was not surprised to see bread as a component ... but I should have known better than to make it such a LARGE component!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
To my taste, this recipe has too much water and too much bread. Some recipes call for no water at all, no oil, and no bread. Gazpacho made almost entirely from tomatoes, onions, cucumbers, and peppers is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I was very disappointed in this soup. There was very little tomato flavour(I followed the recipe faithfully), and I felt that the bread content overpowered the soup.This had a little resemblance to what I had in Spain this past February.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Authentic and good, like mine a little thinner so didn't add but a little bread and of course a couple extra cloves of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States