Gaye's Microwave Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Fantastic, and very easy! When microwaving, ignore the time and just microwave until the butter is melted. I added way more vanilla than the recipe called for (helps to cover the confectioners' sugar taste). My only trouble is, I end up with little clumps (even after sifting the ingredients to start with) after cooking, so I have to QUICKLY mash it through a mesh strainer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This didn't work out for me. Had the consistancy of silly putty. Tastes okay, but you can't eat it unless you're going to put it in a bowl. Try it, it might work for others(it obviously has) but it just didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I was surprised this worked so well in the microwave. I really like the chocolate flavor. I quartered the recipe and microwaved it for about 70 seconds, and I lined the pan with foil so I could remove it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
This recipe is wonderful! I've made it several times and have even cut it in half and in 4. I do NOT TIME it in the microwave, I WATCH it to see when the butter is melted. When I want to make it a little more like CREAMY milk chocolate, I add a little marshmallow creme. I can't believe how simple it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Although I had no trouble getting this to set up (work fast, because it sets up very quickly,) I did not care for the final result. The powdered sugar contributed a strange texture, and it was not at all creamy like a traditional cooked fudge. It tasted like powdered sugar and cocoa. Yuck. I feel it to be much better to expend the time and energy to make the real thing than to save some time with this ersatz stuff, and will obviously never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I was looking for an EASY recipe and this IS IT!! This was too easy to make and way good!! Am going to make it again after I write this review!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
VERY easy to make and came out great. (I liked it the best the next day after it sat at room temp in the plastic zip baggie.) Thanks. I will make definitely this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This may not be gormet but it is suprizingly creamy and delicious! After making this fudge a few times I learned to sift the sugar and cocoa to avoid lumps. It is also tough to get out of the pan... so if you line the pan with tin foil you can take the whole thing out onto a cutting board and just peel the tin foil off then cut it into squares. I also recomend storing what's left in the fridge. It's also fun to mix in baking candies. This is the only fudge recipe I'll ever be making! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I have made this many many times... I like it a little better with less coco (I like milk choc more than dark choc), but either way everyone that tries it says it tastes just like the kind you have to stand and stir over the stove! I've put pecans in some batches and love it. The trick to getting it to set right is to make sure the milk and butter get HOT. Also, it helps if you sift your sugar together with the coco so it is already mixed for the most part (I have even heated the milk and butter in the microwave, then mixed in with the sugar and coco - then added the vanilla last). Make sure you stir REALLY fast and pour before it gets cool... that way it leaves a nice shiny top - if you stir after it cools it looks a little lumpy on top. I also line my pan with foil so it is easy to lift out and cut into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Exactly as advertised...a good recipe for a chocolate or sugar fix. It did take a bit longer to set up than 10 minutes, though. I left it in the freezer for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Chef John’s Christmas Miracle Fudge

See how to make rich, amazing fudge with no dairy.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States