Gary's Turkey Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is a great base recipe. I'm a spice person so I added some cumin, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and chili powder. I used a mild taco sauce instead of the tomato sauce, just cus it's what I had on hand. Instead of canned corn I used trader joes corn and chili tomato less salsa. It's basically my go-to item any time I make Mexican. I HIGHLY recommend that salsa in this recipe (and every other recipe!). Those were my only alterations and I was very happy with how this turned out. So filling and you feel good about saving the fat from using turkey. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight..... the family loved it! It's a keeper! Made a batch of Best Spanish Rice to go along with it. So filling and pretty healthy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
It satisfied my craving for a non-pretentious burrito, but I think next time I try it I'll leave out the corn. It seemed to take the edge off of the hot tomato sauce, and in the end the meat reminded me more of a sloppy joe filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Delicious! Trying to eat a bit healthier and this was great. I used Goya Sofrito tomato cooking base since Stop & Shop had no hot tomato sauce. I added hot sauce and adjusted it for taste as needed. I will be making these again real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
this recipe was a hit, even with my husband who hates anything healthy! Next time I may try to make it more of a wet burrito by putting the meat and beans inside the tortilla and the sauce and cheese over top and then baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I loved it, but it needed seasoning. I added cumin, chili powder, and garlic powder, to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Delicious and easy. I made with rice rather than beans due to a member of my household's allergy, but everyone LOVED this,even the pickiest members of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This is an excellent choice if you are interested in diversifying your menu when you are trying to eat healthy. I could not find hot tomato sauce in my grocery store, so I used cayenne pepper; I didn't measure, but used about 3/4 teaspoon in the meat mixture and another 3/4 teaspoon after the tomato sauce is added. I have also used Sriracha hot chili sauce, commonly found in Chinese restaurants and many grocery stores. With this method, you will get heat in every bite. Despite adding the spice, the mixture was still only moderately spicy; not too much. One could prepare this recipe without the refried beans and it would still be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Super easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
we liked it...added mexi corn and cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States