Gary's Turkey Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Made as written, it lacks some flavor. I did add some spices to flavor it up. I also used Rotel and canned sweet yellow corn. Made with some changes, to add flavor, it's delicious! I also used whole grain tortillas, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minky410

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My husband and I are believers now, these are incredible! I followed the directions exactly. I used Brooks brand Just For Chili Tomato Sauce Medium with Onions 15 oz can. We topped it off with Franks Red Hot which added a little extra kick. This was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These are really good! I didn't have 2 cans of tomato sauce so I used 1 can of rotel tomatoes with the 1 can of tomato sauce that I had. I did add some minced garlic, salt and pepper too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I though these were great as a burrito, but then I thought it would be even better as a pizza! I used refrigerated pizza dough in a deep dish baking stone. Cooked the burrito's as instructed, and then poured the mixture into the pizza crust, sprinkled the cheese on top and baked for 15 minutes. It was pretty awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMJ0724

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very good! This satisfies my craving for Mexican food and saves me some MAJOR calories. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki_26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prospect, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
These burritos are awesome! I didn't chnge a thing about the recipe and they turned out great. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Really simple but really good. I like substituting turkey for ground beef in many recipes but its often a noticeable sacrifice. These burritos were a great exception. I did add some seasoning (cayenne, cumin and sp) and fresh garlic to be fair though. Still a great quick recipe that surprised me and my boyfriend. Try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
These were ok. I left out the beans & added burrito seasoning, cumin, and chili powder. Toppings were cilantro and sliced avocado. Nothing out of this world, but a healthy simple dinner to make on a busy weeknight. Although, I love the hot tomato sauce & plan on implementing that into many more dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was good but didn't have the total flavor I was looking for (fam loved ti & wants to make again). I added some vegetarian refried beans to mixture for extra protein & give it more "stickiness"(kids have a hard time w/ holding it together). I used more onion that called for and added 1 can of black beans. I also added rice & green pepper to stretch it further b/c recipe won't feed a fam of 5 (the 3 kids have HS/adult appetites). Since it tasted blander for my taste (I dn have hot tomato sauce) - I added some taco seasoning, cumin & cayenne pepper. Overall good recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
My husband has never wolfed down quite so quickly. I should mention that I added Penzey's Taco Seasoning (4 Tb per pound of meat) to this recipe, but followed everything else more or less. At another review's suggestion, I popped mine in the oven for 7-8 minutes at 350 once I had assembled the burritos, and the cheese got nice and melty, the tortilla got a bit crisp, and everything melded together perfectly. I would highly recommend this step for anyone with 10 extra minutes. Easy and filling, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States