Gary's Turkey Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
These were very good, but needed spicing up. I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt and a tablespoon of both cumin and chili powder to the meat mixture. I used Rotel tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I didn't use as much sour cream, but I increased the cheese to over a cup. I had enough filling for 7 burritos. My family loved these, so I'm sure I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I think this recipe is delicious and my husband agreed. It needed a little something though so I added some chili powder, lime juice, and a touch of cholula sauce and it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Pretty tasty! Looked like a 'Mom's Special' in the skillet (mystery dinner) - but tasted great! I didn't have the hot tomato sauce, so I used tomato sauce and salsa instead. We used the smaller tortillas, filled and wrapped tightly, and warmed in the oven for a crispy exterior. I baked quite a few of these - way more than my husband and I could eat for dinner. I let the remainder cool, then I froze them for quick lunches to reheat in the oven or micro during the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Jenks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was fabulous. I used one can tomato sauce and one can of Rotel instead of the hot tomato sauce. I baked them in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes to melt the cheese on top. Everyone loved this recipe. We will be adding this to our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I have made these burritos twice, and am making them tonight.... my boyfriend and his brother loved them! Double the recipe because they will go fast! I used El Pato hot tomato sauce found with the ethnic foods! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Made as written, it lacks some flavor. I did add some spices to flavor it up. I also used Rotel and canned sweet yellow corn. Made with some changes, to add flavor, it's delicious! I also used whole grain tortillas, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minky410

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My husband and I are believers now, these are incredible! I followed the directions exactly. I used Brooks brand Just For Chili Tomato Sauce Medium with Onions 15 oz can. We topped it off with Franks Red Hot which added a little extra kick. This was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These are really good! I didn't have 2 cans of tomato sauce so I used 1 can of rotel tomatoes with the 1 can of tomato sauce that I had. I did add some minced garlic, salt and pepper too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I though these were great as a burrito, but then I thought it would be even better as a pizza! I used refrigerated pizza dough in a deep dish baking stone. Cooked the burrito's as instructed, and then poured the mixture into the pizza crust, sprinkled the cheese on top and baked for 15 minutes. It was pretty awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMJ0724

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very good! This satisfies my craving for Mexican food and saves me some MAJOR calories. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki_26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prospect, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gary’s Turkey Burritos and Homemade Salsa

Dinner’s ready in a hurry with healthy, homemade burritos.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States