Gary's Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Over the years I have tried several different recipes for these things, and found this one to be just "OK". They were a bit bland in flavor and were made exactly as prescribed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiny72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made these without the crab meat, because I didn’t have any. Other than the butter called for in the stuffing, I brushed the outside of the mushrooms with butter and drizzled some on top before baking. I cannot imagine using two full cups – YIKES! I filled the caps with a little of the stuffing to fill in the hole and then used my cookie scoop to mound it on top. I also baked mine in a muffin tin so they would roll or slide around. We loved these made the way I made them, but three stars for the 2 cups of butter indicated. I wonder if it should read 2 tablespoons – that would be more like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I have made these several times following the recipe exactly. They are scrumptious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These were great but made too much so I would recommend getting more then 12 mushrooms. I really stuffed the mushrooms with filling too, more than the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
The use of the stuffing mix makes this recipe quick, easy and wonderfully seasoned - perfect for a small New Years party. I substituted 1/2 lb. of sausage for the 1/2 lb of crab and topped it w/ Parmesan. Had enough filling to generously stuff 35 regular sized mushrooms with filling left over. They were the first of the appetizers to disappear and then I found guests in the kitchen eating the left-over filling with spoons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were just OK...edible and everyone liked them, but nothing that made me say "Wow!" Basically, all I tasted was chicken stuffing. First off, the recipe makes way more stuffing than needed for 12 mushrooms unless they are the size of dinner plates and I'm pretty sure 2 cups of butter is a typo. I'll keep looking for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made these for a New Year's Eve party and everyone liked them, (reason for 4 star rating), except me. They were fine, but nothing special. I guess I'm not a fan of Stove Top. The only change I made was to use real crab. I wished I had just used the imitation, as the original recipe called for. Using real crab was expensive, and you couldn't even taste it. Advice for others tempted to use the real stuff, as I won't be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These were amazingly delicious. I did however make some changes based on the reviews I'd read here. Firstly, there was enough filling to stuff a ton of jumbo mushrooms - well not a ton, but certainly more than 12. Secondly, 2 cups of butter just seemed like way too much fat. What I did was this. Make up the stuffing mix according to directions. Sauted the chopped up mushroom stems along with about 3 cloves of minced garlic and 1/2 an onion also minced in about 1/2 cup of melted butter. Mixed up the stuffing, sauted vegetables, crab and cream chese. Before stuffing the mushrooms we poached them lightly in some red wine and beef stock. Stuffed them and cooked as directed here. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCSINGINGMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I doubled this recipe for a Christmas party and I bought regular, bite sized mushrooms. I ended up stuffing 60 of them and every last one was eaten. I even have enough mixture to freeze and stuff 100 more! I did use alot less butter than called for and I omitted the crabmeat and added chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Do yourself a favor and use real crab and only about 2/3 of prepared stuffing mix. Also added a dash of Old Bay seasoning. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States