Gary's Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I loved these mushrooms. I did make a couple of changes (I can't seem to stop myself). I sauted the chopped mushroom stems with some finely chopped onion and minced garlic before adding them to the prepared stuffing mix. I also used 2 cans of real crab meat instead of the imitation, cuz I had some in the cupboard that I had picked up at the 99 cent store. I also put a healthy pinch of grated Parmesano Reggiano on top of each stuffed mushroom before baking. Had to bake these for about 25 minutes, though. They smelled wonderful while they were baking, and I took them to my card club and the ladies snarked them all up. One thing: Even though I used a 24 oz box of mushrooms, and piled them high with stuffing, I had quite a bit of the stuffing left over. The next day, I bought another 24 oz box of mushrooms and made these again for just my husband and me for dinner. If Gary only uses 12 mushrooms, and uses up all the stuffing, the mushrooms must be ENORMOUS. Great recipe, though! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
stuffed mushrooms are a holiday staple, but i make mine a little different...chop and saute the reserved stems and about 1/2 cup chopped onion... also, i use ham instead of crab. (you can either us the canned ham, or chop up some deli ham). -I've never tried them with cream cheese, but think it would be a nice compliment to the ham. - also, for extra moist mushrooms (and to save a little fat), omit the butter and drizzle a little chicken broth over the stuffed creations just before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
I just love recipes that I can throw together using ingredients I already have available; that much better when the food tastes so good that everyone wants the recipe. This is one of those recipes. I eliminated the crabmeat since I had none on hand and J_TATUM and LOTHRID both said this did not hamper the success of the recipe. I used one and a half sticks of butter during step five, and a half stick during the preparation of the boxed stuffing, bringing the total butter usage to 1 cup. This was in response to the postings which said too watery or too much butter. It worked fabulously. Served these at a dinner party with much success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
These are FANTASTIC! I did take the advice of other reviewers and reduced the butter. I used one stick of butter to saute the garlic, then I added the cream cheese to the melted butter/garlic until it was melted and smooth. I added this entire mixture to Stovetop chicken flavored stuffing and added two cans of Geisha snow crab meat. It does make alot of stuffing but it freezes well so you can save some for another batch of stuffed mushrooms. These taste unbelievalbe. Whether I make 25 or 75 of these for a party...every last one is eaten. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I made these for an appetizer, and everyone loved them. I didn't see the point of all the butter, but after checking on them in the oven half way, I understood that it is for cooking the mushroom. I have made them since, and added stock to the pan instead of butter, it worked just as well. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I made these to have as appetizers before our Christmas dinner and they were absolutely delicious with some changes.......I doubled the amount of mushrooms but really I could have tripled and still come out okay. I omitted the crabmeat, used mushroom and onion flavored Stove Top and light cream cheese. And the butter-there's no reason to use that amount! I just used the few tablespoons it took to make the stuffing and that was it. When I finished stuffing the mushrooms, I sprinkled them with a little Parmesan cheese, paprika and dried parsley flakes. Right before baking, I also sprinkled on a dry white wine and poured just enough wine in the pan to cover the bottom of it. Perfection! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I used pork sausage instead of Crab and used small mushrooms instead of large. We had to get more mushrooms because of the amount of extra stuffing. I use 4 - 8 oz packages of small mushrooms. It was wonderful. Also, you don't need as much butter. I only used about 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Yum, yum, yum . . . wow, I thought I'd never find mushrooms this good. We had a restaurant here in St Louis that closed and I've been searching for their mushrooms and this recipe is close to it. I read most of the reviews and changed things a bit myself, I made this with pork sausage (no crab) and half the butter. It was great and dont tell anyone but I ate 6 myself (needless to say I was full), I made 16 mushrooms and had plenty of stuffing left for Sunday dinner, I stuffed chicken breasts with the stuffing like another reviewer said. I still have to find something to do with the rest but I'd eat that filling on crackers really. Thanks Gary, great mushroom recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
415 calories in each mushroom?!?! The recipe says 12 mushrooms, 12 servings, and 415 calories per serving?!?! I hope this is a typo. They were excellent, but never will make again if that is true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This was a good recipe, but very garlicy. I cut the amount of melted butter in half, and was glad that I did. I think the mushrooms I used were too big because they ended up being really watery. I will definitely make this again, but next time use smaller mushrooms, and stuff them a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLANGWAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States