Garlicky, Spicy and Sesamey Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
What a treat! Garlic, garlic, garlic! I of course added more garlic. I didn't have sesame seeds so, I used sunflower seeds. Every one enjoyed it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
What I liked most about this is the cooking method! Blanching the green beans before finishing them off in the skillet served to preserve their vibrant green color, and made them perfectly crisp-tender. I finished cooking the beans in the skillet together with the shallots and garlic as I didn't want to take a chance of overcooking them. I added some chopped red pepper for color and eye appeal, and finished them with a drizzle of toasted sesame oil. I forgot the sesame seeds, darn it, but these were so good we didn't even miss them. These weren't "spicy," as indicated in the title, but they sure were good, and truly stood apart from your everyday green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I love this recipe, but I add wax beans to the green beans to give more color. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Simple and truly amazing...I did not change a thing. I LOVE sesame oil, you just have to watch cause it can over power if you use too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
very good. sesame oil makes this work and I LOVE shallots!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I loved these & so did my husband. I didn't change a thing except to add a couple more sprinkles of sesame oil because the shallots & garlic looked like they were cooking dry. Will have again & again. Served them w/ Sirloin Steaks & Garlic Butter (from this site) & fresh sliced pears. (I like to serve sliced pears or apples w/ garlicky foods because they act as a palate cleanser.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These are really good. I wouldn't call them spicy though. My family loved them and it was a nice change from the normal green beans. I did steam my green beans instead of blanching them. I didn't have any ice. I will make these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This was surprisingly delicious.. so simple, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was a great tasty way of making green beans! When we made it, however, we added red and yellow peppers to add some color and flavor and it was GREAT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was great except why would anyone boil their vegetables? Why not just steam them? It takes just as long if not shorter to do that and the vegetables keep their value. This paired exceptionally well with the rosemary ranch chicken kabobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States