Garlicky, Spicy and Sesamey Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I loved these & so did my husband. I didn't change a thing except to add a couple more sprinkles of sesame oil because the shallots & garlic looked like they were cooking dry. Will have again & again. Served them w/ Sirloin Steaks & Garlic Butter (from this site) & fresh sliced pears. (I like to serve sliced pears or apples w/ garlicky foods because they act as a palate cleanser.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
What I liked most about this is the cooking method! Blanching the green beans before finishing them off in the skillet served to preserve their vibrant green color, and made them perfectly crisp-tender. I finished cooking the beans in the skillet together with the shallots and garlic as I didn't want to take a chance of overcooking them. I added some chopped red pepper for color and eye appeal, and finished them with a drizzle of toasted sesame oil. I forgot the sesame seeds, darn it, but these were so good we didn't even miss them. These weren't "spicy," as indicated in the title, but they sure were good, and truly stood apart from your everyday green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Way too many sesame seeds, definitely not spicy, couldn't even taste any garlic, and I just wasn't impressed. I followed the recipe as directed. Other recipes found here for the same type dish are far better. They weren't bad, but the name implies a flavor that just wasn't there. Now call them sesame green beans, make some small adjustments and I give this a 4. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This has been my favorite Asian-style green beans yet. I've tried some higher-rated ones and wasn't impressed. This will be my new method, with the addition of Sriracha. For the record, I subbed (liberally) soy sauce for the salt in this recipe, and that probably made a big difference. Be sure to take a paper towel or clean kitchen towel to your freshly-drained green beans BEFORE adding them to your hot oil, or you'll throw grease splash-back onto yourself. Drying them also helps them to blister and brown like they're supposed to (instead of steam and mush, like they are not supposed to). I wish the instructions included that step, because it's a standard cautionary procedure (never add water to hot oil, etc.) but I don't fault the recipe for that. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was a great tasty way of making green beans! When we made it, however, we added red and yellow peppers to add some color and flavor and it was GREAT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeggieChefLaura
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
there are definitely extra sesame seeds that end up staying the in pan... but I like sesame so its ok. It's definitely not spicy like the name says. I added oyster sauce for some more flavour and because I really like it. Good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieChefLaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Really quick and easy side dish! I would add some red peper flakes to this for an added kick. I can't really have sesame seeds but the sesame oil added the flavor so it was all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These are really good. I wouldn't call them spicy though. My family loved them and it was a nice change from the normal green beans. I did steam my green beans instead of blanching them. I didn't have any ice. I will make these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Too many sesame seeds in this recipe. Tasted better after I added some hot chili oil. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I like the method, but there wasn't enough flavor for me. It's missing something, despite all those sesame seeds (which I found to be too much). I will add teriyaki sauce or honey or something in the future. Thanks for the base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States