Garlicky Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I first made this to bring to a Thanksgiving potluck and they were a hit! Since then, I have made this recipe numerous times to complement my entrees. It helps to use a little less garlic than the recipe calls for, and I make sure to chop the garlic very finely, to take the bite out of the raw garlic taste. If you want to try and reduce the calories, you can omit the cream without sacrificing much of the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
These were just exactly what I was looking for. I had garlic mashed potatoes at a catered party a few years ago and this is the best recipe I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I never thought that mashed potatoes with chicken broth would taste so good. I used light cream, low fat milk and light sour cream. I also cut down the butter by one third. It still came out great. The garlic flavor made it a big hit! A definite side dish for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Absolutely the BEST mashed potatoes I've ever had! I sauteed the garlic a bit to take the "bite" out of it, and to soften it a bit so I wouldn't be chomping on garlic like crazy. Serve with the Greatest Grilled Turkey and Slow Cooker Stuffing from this site, and you have one easy Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
These are awesome!! My whole family requests them all the time. You will make them over and over, just like me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Very good! I roasted the garlic first in the oven then just squeezed it into the potatoes. I didn't have the chives but didn't really miss them. They don't even need gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
We use garlic in nearly every meal at our house and a couple of days ago we were looking for a new way to cook an interesting side dish the first day we tried this we thought it was so good we've had it with nearly every thing since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I love garlic so much so the flavour in these potatoes was wonderful. I am also a huge fan of chives so i only added to the great outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
YUM YUM YUMMY!! Boy were these good!! Even my 6 yr. old had seconds! Other than cutting the recipe in half and adding extra garlic (6 cloves which I roasted first) I didn't change a thing! I also made this with red skinned potatoes and left the skin on. The combo of the red skin and chives made for a very pretty presentation. Will definitely be making these again and again! Thanx Sara :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Very easy to follow - family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States