Garlicky Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Although I omitted the cream (and used light sour cream) from this recipe to reduce the fat/calorie content - they were still pretty good, but they are what they are...garlic mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I love garlic so much so the flavour in these potatoes was wonderful. I am also a huge fan of chives so i only added to the great outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
We use garlic in nearly every meal at our house and a couple of days ago we were looking for a new way to cook an interesting side dish the first day we tried this we thought it was so good we've had it with nearly every thing since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Very good! I roasted the garlic first in the oven then just squeezed it into the potatoes. I didn't have the chives but didn't really miss them. They don't even need gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Good flavours, although the cream and sour cream made the mash a bit too gluggy for me. I dsidn't use the chicken stock though, I just boiled in water so that might have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I first made this to bring to a Thanksgiving potluck and they were a hit! Since then, I have made this recipe numerous times to complement my entrees. It helps to use a little less garlic than the recipe calls for, and I make sure to chop the garlic very finely, to take the bite out of the raw garlic taste. If you want to try and reduce the calories, you can omit the cream without sacrificing much of the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I really liked these. The only thing I did differently was used roasted garlic instead of raw. I like that mellow flavor a bit better. They did turn out really great. Thanks for another great garlic potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Absolutely the BEST mashed potatoes I've ever had! I sauteed the garlic a bit to take the "bite" out of it, and to soften it a bit so I wouldn't be chomping on garlic like crazy. Serve with the Greatest Grilled Turkey and Slow Cooker Stuffing from this site, and you have one easy Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Good mashed potato recipe. My husband really liked these. Nothing is too difficult and they come out with lots of great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I never thought that mashed potatoes with chicken broth would taste so good. I used light cream, low fat milk and light sour cream. I also cut down the butter by one third. It still came out great. The garlic flavor made it a big hit! A definite side dish for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States