Garlicky Green Beans with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I used portabello mushrooms and fresh green beans from the garden and my family thought this was fabulous. I used some gourmet seasoning mix (Mt. Elbert All Purpose Seasoning from the Savory Spice Shop in Colorado). It was a perfect recipe for precious garden green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I made this for myself with a much smaller amount of freshly picked beans, and I microwaved them for a minute instead of boiling. I used onion instead of onion powder and Smart Balance instead of butter. They were just wonderful. I will make this again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Very delicious...everyone raved about these green beans. I liked the fact that I could make favorable green beans without using any type of meat to season. I made a few changes. Replace water with chicken broth for more flavor, added a little garlic powder for more garlic taste and also a splash of teriyaki sauce while the beans were heating through. This will be one of my go-tos from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was flavorful and delicious! The only thing I would do different next time would be to put in only a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Sat. April 07, 2012, I prepared this recipe for myself. I added fresh sliced up white onion. I substituted Smart Balance Omega for butter. I steamed my fresh green beans or "snap beans" and boy oh boy those tasted great. I have never cooked green beans before. This is a very easy recipe and cleanup was OK. I ate the whole thing and I did not get belly swelling from these fresh ingredients. Allrecipes.com, I will be using your recipes. I like very much the PRINTOUT OPTIONS. I used extra large print and that was really nice to read. I give this recipe 5 stars. Signed: shirley73yrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
So yummy! I accidentally overcooked my green beans so make sure they are crunchy! I used baby bella mushrooms, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
we enjoyed these beans! i think 5 minutes of boiling/steaming is plenty, and 8 leaves them too mushy. i also would double the garlic next time for added flavor. these are very simple to make and it's a flavorful recipe that doesn't destroy the nutritional value of the vegetable. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe! I omit the mushrooms and triple the garlic. I have to double the recipe or they go quickly in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Loved the simplicity! However, I added more mushrooms (for protein) and more garlic cloves and pepper to give it a kick. Served it with herbed tomato whole wheat pasta in olive oil :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Loved this one! Doubled this one to ensure leftovers. Steamed beans until crisp/tender, also used a butter/olive oil combo for cooking the mushrooms and garlic. Great flavors here and super yummy. Will most definately make again. ps...I hate trimming fresh grean beans....but this was so worth it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States